Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 24 reviews and rated 52 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Dark Knight

Brilliant Movie - Action packed and tense - not to be missed!

(Edit) 18/08/2008

A lot of people commented that they are put off this film with the fact that it is so long. However, the film is too good to realise that it was so long!

Christian Bale plays batman excellently again - and is along the same theme as Batman Begins (a little "darker" than previous batman films).

The late Heath Ledger played the Joker brilliantly and really presented his acting talents. Again, comparing the original Tim Burton's Batman - Heath Ledgers batman is a little darker (and crazier) than previously played by Jack Nicholson - which was more comedy and tongue-in-cheek humour. At certain points of the film I even questioned whether it should have been a higher certification than "12A"

In the film, the new District Attorney, Harvey Dent - is Batman's key to regaining a normal life. Harvey is a great guy who has the power and attitude to clean up Gotham (usually left up to Batman) - however things don't go to plan with the Joker and corrupt cops around and things aren't that simple when Harvey Dent's girlfriend just happens to be Rachel - Bruce Wayne's childhood sweetheart and all-time love (as shown in Batman Begins)

I liked every aspect of this film – action, tension, special effects, impressive acting…and more! I was glad I saw it on the big screen - please watch you will not be disappointed (Although my Husband was a little annoyed that the storyline did not tie in with the "old" batman films!! Lol)

If you liked Batman Begins - you will love this!

5 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

There Will Be Blood

Pointless and a waste of time - soundtrack is awful!

(Edit) 03/08/2009
Spoiler Alert

Have some of these reviewers been paid to give good reviews? Apologies to those who enjoy the film but I was deeply upset by the 2 and a halfish hours of my life that I had wasted!!! The soundtrack was appalling - did not go hand in hand with what was happening in the film. For example - really tense (and strange) music would be played at a very boring moment of nothing happening.

The only good from this film would be the acting delivered by Daniel Day Lewis. Easily one of the greatest actors of our time but I wonder why he accepted the script. I suppose I don't usually go for the 'dramas' due to lack of action - but this really is sour and I would never ever watch it again. The story was pointless and left both me and my husband frowning at the TV set when the credits rolled!!

5 out of 12 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Prestige

Goes on a bit but a good ending!

(Edit) 14/05/2008

I was looking forward to this film. It started and ended great. However, a lot of the middle could lose you, as it 'goes on a bit!' It is quite a dark film too - the ending is cracking though!! Didn't expect it - so I would say it would be worth watching. Don't watch it when you're tired though - you may find yourself nodding off (like my fella did - lol!!)

4 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Bourne Ultimatum

Really Enjoyable - Not to be missed!

(Edit) 29/05/2008

Really enjoyed this film. Had all the ingredients of the other 2 Bourne films - action, tension, bad guys who you could just strangle!! It's great as it keeps you gripped all the way – no dragging and no irrelevant bits. The scenes in Morocco are especially edge-of-your-seat action and the special effects are brilliant!!!

It really does put the cherry on the top of the trilogy. As always, Matt Damon's acting was spot-on.

So, my final words - Watch this...you will not be disappointed!!

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Heat

2 of the greatest actors = great film!

(Edit) 16/06/2008

I heard this was a great classic, and as a Pacino/De Niro fan - I felt I needed to watch this.

It was nice to see both of my fav actors in a film although the roles were unexpected. Pacino played the dedicated cop who was hunting down the leader of a clever gang of thieves.

The only slight flaw I suppose is that it was longer than it could have been - but I personally didn't mind as it kept me interested. Each character had a little story of their own along side the main concept of Thieving/chasing.... but not to the point where you get confused. Very well written and directed. The stories come together at the end.

I must mention that Val Kilmer also plays a good part. He plays the character well and also sports a very different hairstyle! Lol!

A good watch and another addition to my list of classics.

Enjoy!

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Next

Something to do...

(Edit) 18/08/2008

I quite enjoyed this film and would probably say it is worth a watch if there is nothing else to watch. Nicholas Cage is a guy who can see 2 minutes into his own future and therefore constantly changes his future when he sees something bad coming. He is wanted by the FBI to help with a terrorist attack but Cage is a little reluctant.

The film is a little far-fetched in places and the ending was watched with a frown (but I won't spoil it for you!)

Nicholas Cage's character came across as a little sleazy - although I don't think it was supposed to (think it may be the long hair again, putting me off, lol). He is a great actor in some of his movies (Gone in 60 seconds , National treasure etc) but I wouldn't say this is one of his greatest performances.

Also... a little treat in store with an appearance from the great Colombo!! (Peter Falk)

:)

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Run, Fat Boy, Run

Good English Comedy

(Edit) 18/08/2008

I really enjoyed this film and would compare the humour to Hot Fuzz (although not as "silly" - at the end) - Simon Pegg is a great English comedy actor and it shows in this movie.

Simon Pegg plays Dennis who is lazy and arrogant until he realises what he has lost (his pregnant Fiancée - after chickening out on his wedding). However when she gets with a new man - a "perfect" American hunk - he tries to compete by entering the London marathon - and to prove he can actually finish something.

I don't know why but the plot reminds me a little of Mrs Doubtfire - probably because of the child element and the "perfect man" to compete with to win back his ex.

Honestly - if you like Hot Fuzz, or fancy a comedy, rent this film - it is a great watch and will have you laughing xxx

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Planes, Trains and Automobiles

A comedy Classic!!

(Edit) 18/08/2008

If you have never seen this film - get it now!

I had to write a review on this film because it is one of my favourite films of all time!

Steve Martin plays a hard-working family man who is trying to get home to his family for thanks giving - but against the elements (e.g. bad weather, money etc) he struggles and the journey is both long and eventful. Along the way he meets John Candy who plays a self-employed businessman who adds to Steve Martin's grief with his irritating habits. As they part from each other they keep "bumping" into each other again - and the journey is hilarious.

I would say it is both John Candy and Steve Martins finest performance - and together they are a brilliant comedy pair. Don't think twice about watching this - watch it now!!!

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

30 Days of Night

Jumpy and action packed - a vampire great!

(Edit) 01/09/2008

This was a great vampire movie but would compare it something more like 28 days later as opposed to other vampire films.

A community in a remote town north of Alaska endures 30 days without sunlight every year. However, this year the community get more than just dark days! The group of vampires are vicious and hungry and prey on the town. Without any help available (no phone lines, airport closed etc) they have to stick together to survive.

It is a great horror flick and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Josh Harnett plays a good part as does his co-star Melissa George. The vampires are a gory sight!

During the first half an hour I wondered whether it would be more cheesy than scary - due to the strange vampire make-up - but surprisingly was a great watch with a nice side plot of the relationship between Josh Hartnett and Melissa George.

Would definitely watch again. xxxx

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shrooms

Not too bad - Unexpected ending

(Edit) 12/11/2008

This film is about a group of American teens that have taken a trip to Ireland in the countryside woods to explore the magic of mushrooms.

Their friend, who has arranged the trip, advises of the mushrooms they should and shouldn't eat.

However, the adventure turns to horror, when one by one, the effects of the shrooms take an unexpected turn and eat suffer a horrific death.

However, due the effects of the drug, the people don't know whether things are real or a "trip".

This film was ok. As a horror fan, I wouldn't say it is the greatest horror, but definitely worth a watch - also a surprising and unexpected ending.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ocean's Thirteen

Yet another hit!!! Witty and fast-paced.

(Edit) 12/11/2008

If you're a fan of the other Ocean films, this is yet another great!!

Al Pacino plays a great part (as always) as a selfish and clever casino owner who has betrayed and double crossed respected Reuben.

This time, yet another Heist takes place, but this time it's not all about the money.

I always love these films. Clever, witty and fast-paced. If you enjoyed the last two films, you will love this. I also enjoyed the return of Andy Garcia - who agrees to help.

I thought this was as good as oceans 12, but not as good as the original - still brilliant though - really enjoyed!!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blood Diamond

Eye Opener

(Edit) 06/03/2008

I really enjoyed this film - great action, great story and keeps you gripped. Leo DiCarprio's accent was a little weird but still great acting!!

It opened my eyes in terms of Diamond Sumggling and Child soldiors. It was quite shocking to see it was based on true events at the end. I know it's not as bad these days but it's put me off buying diamonds (not that I do a lot anyway, lol!!)

6 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Machinist

Don't bother!!

(Edit) 06/03/2008

I was browsing the films and felt I had to write a little review on this. It was a while ago when I watched it but all I remember is that it is very slow, boring and not worth the watch.

I remember the plot being a little weird. Although Christian Bale is is a great actor, I think the film seems in a "b" category. I am a little phazed as to why he accepted the script!!

I think the end was ok as I recall but don't watch it unless you have a couple of hours you want to waste!!!

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gerry

Worst film ever!!!

(Edit) 06/03/2008

This is the worst film I have ever seen in my entire life!!! In fact I couldn't watch any more than the first hour - what a waste of time!!!

The beginning starts with a car driving - you would think, just while the credits are on...but no. It just drives for ages - nothing happening, nobody talking. When Matt Damon and Casey Affleck get out the car they walk for a long time, without speaking. They are in a dessert-type land and nothing is going on. One then gets stuck on a rock and can't get down, so it's another 10 minutes of nothing and I couldn't stand anymore. I think in the hour I watched it, 10 words were spoken!!!

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Die Hard 4.0

Action Packed!!

(Edit) 25/03/2008

I do enjoy a good action film - and if that's what you're looking for - it's full of it!! In fact it dosen't stop for a second!! I felt like I needed a rest!

I think it is different to the other die hard films but still very good.

Again, the special effects and action scenes are very good but may seem like they tried a little too hard to pack as much as they could into it.

Still, I would recommend it :)

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.