Film Reviews by KG

Welcome to KG's film reviews page. KG has written 19 reviews and rated 135 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Easy A

Top Marks

(Edit) 21/01/2015

A good fun film, with a well acted storyline.

Plenty of laughs along the way.

Olive is a savvy schoolgirl who decides to make herself and some friends more popular than they currently are.

Great fun.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Walking on Sunshine

80's songs lift the film

(Edit) 21/01/2015

The songs make the film, and they segway in without warning!

The storyline is poor, the redeeming feature is singing along to the songs of my youth, they come along just often enough to keep watching.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pitch Perfect

Hits the right notes

(Edit) 28/11/2014

Good family film, 10 year old daughter loved it.

Beca is the star, her attitude and shyness come through in equal measure.

A good storyline, good cast and great set of songs makes this a wonderful easy to watch film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

A Smörgåsbord of Special Effects

(Edit) 28/11/2014

Amazing animation and special effects, good adaptation from the book, looking forward to the third installment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Up in the Air

Air Today, Gone Tomorrow.

(Edit) 28/11/2014

Forgettable, easy watch of a film.

If you want to learn how to get through airport security in an efficient manner, this is the film for you!!

Apart from that we follow Ryans life, living out of his suitcase and the relationships that are made, however fleetingly as he journeys through his work life.

Not a must watch by any means, but if you like Clooney, or just want an easy film to watch, it could suit your needs.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Love Punch

Better than a punch in the stomach

(Edit) 28/11/2014

A lighthearted comedy which has it's moments of laughter and emotion.

The cast pull the film from the depths of the bargain basement bin up to something watchable.

The 4 talented stars of the film use all of their skill and know how to create moments of comedy, passion, and emotion worthy of a better film.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Maleficent

Maleficent - MAGNIFICENT!

(Edit) 28/11/2014

Great family film.

Special effects and costumes are truly wonderful.

The story is well told and Angelina Jolie is utterly believable in the role of Maleficent.

Would happily watch again.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Drinking Buddies

Steer clear of these 'Drinking Buddies'

(Edit) 28/11/2014

Total waste of 87 minutes of my life.

A limp, pointless meander through work/home relationships that never goes anywhere.

Your time would be better spend watching Anna Kendrick do her 'Cups' routine 20 times over.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sunshine on Leith

Like butter melting on your heart.

(Edit) 28/11/2014

Fantastic musical film.

Proclaimers songs are legendary and the film is blended into them as if they were written specifically for this film, not 20 years earlier.

The story leads us through a few years in the life of Davy and Ally after their return from Afghan.

The songs tell the story,

Returning to Edinburgh - 'I'm on my Way'

A drunken night moving on from the past - 'It's over and done with'

Life changes - 'Letter from America'

Love Blossoms - 'I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles)'

Proclaimers music is fantastic, and the whole film is an emotional, inspiring joy.

If more than 5 stars were available, this would get it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Birder's Guide to Everything

Birders Guide to Everything - 'Except how to make a decent film'

(Edit) 21/10/2014

Film is rated as a 12, plenty of swearing and sexual innuendo, I will certainly take more note of the classifications as from the blurb I thought this would be appropriate for my 10 year old bird loving daughter. I was wrong.

Good moments of chemistry between the main 2 actors, showing their friendship blossom and grow. The plot line of finding the rare bird was really stretched to the extreme, with drug gangs, other birders and a calamitous roadtrip all helped fill the 1 hour 20 mins.

Without all the swearing, it would actually make a decent 'Disney' type childrens film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists

A Swashbuckling Disappointment

(Edit) 21/10/2014

Expectations of an Aardman film are always high, and before now we have not been disappointed.

Pirates had a poor story line, not enough laughs and a plot that dragged.

The fact that it was billed as an adventure 'With Scientists' was true, but really granted the whole film its weak plot line.

If further 'Pirate' films come as sequels, we, as a family will steer well clear.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Captain Phillips

Pirates are not historical figures

(Edit) 07/10/2014

Tense film showing the battle of capitalist greed against piracy.

The pirates see what they do as a way to earn a living and keep away from the wrath of the warlords, the shipping companies see the routes through pirate waters as a way to reduce shipping costs. Once in a while something is going to give.

Enter Tom Hanks followed by the Navy Seals.

Well filmed, believable story of what can and does happen out there.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

James Bond: Skyfall

Skyfall - Goodie, or Baddie

(Edit) 07/10/2014

Standard fare for a bond film, action, cars, chases, girls all in equal measure.

For me not edge of the seat Bond, but more of a transitional film for some of the key characters.

Hopeful of better next time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

About Time

Great Cast, Great Film

(Edit) 07/10/2014

Really good film.

Every day, we all make potentially life changing decisions, whether these are big decisions, or small, they can change the course of your life.

But being given the knowledge you can try a decision, and if it doesn't work out, just rewind back to the point you made it, and then go in a different direction, would be fairly mind blowing.

The journey of discovery of how to use these powers is fun, Tim 'rewinds' time throughout the film in order to improve on the last iteration of reality.

A touching, emotional trip through a fictional reality that we would all probably like a go at.

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Monsters University

Graduated with First Class Honours

(Edit) 07/10/2014

Always nervous about prequels, but this did not disappoint.

Great animation, great story telling and staying true to Sully and Mike's first outing in Monsters Inc was an unexpected bonus.

Enjoyed by the whole family.

Mike and Sully were always an unusual partnership and this film explains how they met, and how they came together as a successful team.

Happily watch again.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month