Film Reviews by BS

Welcome to BS's film reviews page. BS has written 23 reviews and rated 107 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Julieta

Lovely moving film that touches on the fear of inevitable loss all parents go through

(Edit) 30/07/2019

A deep, heartfelt film that goes to the heart of a parent's experience.

The relationships unfolded with subtlety and depth, the powerfull symbolism gave it heft and the ambiguous end was pure Almodovar.

It was the perfect allegory for the loss of the child a parent once knew, and their replacement by an unknowable stranger.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Crawlspace

Just don't

(Edit) 16/02/2019

What's more disappointing? That it's the first truly shit Ozzy film I have seen, or that it had the makings of about 5 totally different decent films.

Really.

Please don't

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man Who Saved the World

Charming and oh so Russian

(Edit) 18/02/2018

Good mixture of reconstruction and documentary. It shows its age (2014, before Russian became a bad guy again) but heartfelt, charming and moving. Stanislav is irascible and rude, but wears his rightful status of hero lightly and seriously.

My favourite part has to be the offhand way in which Matt Damon and Ashton Kutcher are rejected out of hand...

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night

Skateboarding Iranian vampire film with a new romantic soundtrack...

(Edit) 19/08/2017

...and a show stealing cat actor. Could be Lynch at his best if it wasn't too subtle for a male directorial hand. Really really good if off track arthouse is you thing. And it really is mine.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Frances Ha

It's like Lena Dunham has artistically abused Woody Allen

(Edit) 29/01/2016

The worst excesses of New York pseudo-intellectual claptrap. Could be interesting... but unfortunately not. She can't even dance. Annoyingly, I really like both Lena Dunham and Woody Allen.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kenny

How do the Ozzies make this type of film?

(Edit) 26/08/2015

If this was American, it would be cheap and lazy, full of poor caricature and lazy plot. It would never be made in the UK. But the Ozzies make into a sharp, poignant, bittersweet comedy. It has some of the best toilet based one liners I have ever heard; delivered at a cracking pace, but with a laconic underarm that makes floater humour seem almost charming. It reminded me of Priscilla in that it turned what could have been light titillation into a deep and moving experience.

Oh, due to a quirk of my DVD player, the soundtrack was missing, which focused the mind and made it feel like a proper documentary. This may have made the film even better. Either way, please please do not miss this film.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cosmopolis

Really poor

(Edit) 08/10/2014

Oh Cronenberg, why hast thou forsaken us?

So unutterably shit I switched off 40 minutes in. There will always be something in the back of my head saying 'Maybe if you'd watch it all the way through you may have loved it'. Maybe. Maybe one day when I am paralysed in old age, sitting in front of a television seeking entertainment for the final years of my life I will return to it, but only after I have watched every Adam Sandler movie first.

It is that bad.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Odd Couple

Lovely

(Edit) 08/10/2014

It is hard to approach such a cinematic staple without being disappointed, but this really really doesn't. It is a comedy yes, but it is really touching, deeply moving in parts, and emotionally raw. The characters have depth as well as being extremely funny. The unsung hero of the film is the card game, which is one of the most masterful constructs/foils of any comedy you will see. The only downside (and it is minor) is that the female roles are way too light.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Magic Mike

Quality shines through.

(Edit) 08/10/2014

No, this is no masterpiece. Yes, it always has that weird emotionless mask that Soderberg can't seem to shake. But it is a hell of a film considering the subject matter and basic plot. If you are a budding script writer or director, it is a masterclass of how to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Searching for Sugar Man

So so good!

(Edit) 08/10/2014

It just doesn't seem like a real story. The structuring is excellent. It grips and holds and takes you along. The end will bring you to your knees in a moving yet charming way. It is a shame that other reviewers have revealed the plot, because I went into it blind and couldn't believe it was real. Do it.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Master

Frustrating near miss of a 'masterpiece'

(Edit) 08/10/2014

Oh god I wanted to love this film. It has my two favourite actors in it. It is a fascinating subject matter, and a fascinating premise. It is beautifully shot (the opening 30 minutes is some of the most subtly stylish cinematography you will ever see)... but... God it was tedious. Shame shame shame.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

World War Z

Worth it if only to see the futility of the West Bank wall

(Edit) 08/10/2014

That was a joke. Please please don't watch this film. Please just watch 28 Days Later again, even if you have seen it a thousand times. It is infinitely better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rust and Bone

Still gives me shivers

(Edit) 08/10/2014

From the outset it is powerful, enthralling, deeply moving and impossibly French.

As a father of a young son myself, the complex, evolving, well considered relationship between the two male leads moved me to tears. To top it all, it was beautifully staged and shot. Awesome.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Atanarjuat: The Fast Runner

Absolutely fascinating

(Edit) 08/10/2014

OK, I will admit I struggled to recognise and differentiate some of the characters, but it was powerful and touching, and felt all the world like the most dramatic documentary you have ever seen. The words were hypnotic to the ear, and striking to read, and told an eternal, universal story that could have been based in Manhattan and still worked. I watched it twice.

Really wonderful.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hunger Games

Took me half the film to remember I'd watched it before...

(Edit) 08/10/2014

...it was that good. Considering Jennifer Lawrence is in it, and she was amazing in Winter's Bone, it had the emotional depth of one of Peppa Pig's muddy puddles. Really really don't bother. Watch World on a Wire instead.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month