Film Reviews by DH

Welcome to DH's film reviews page. DH has written 49 reviews and rated 95 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Destination Wedding

Absolute rubbish

(Edit) 16/04/2020

We gave this an hour. There is no-one else in this movie apart from Keanu and Winona, they do not inspire and you are desperate for someone else for them to talk to.

We decided we'd wasted enough of our life on this miserable offering. Avoid.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Judy

Good movie

(Edit) 02/03/2020

Really gets to the heart of why Judy was such a mess. This is a really good movie and Rene deserves her recent Oscar for this role. Loved revisiting the Talk of the Town as I remembered my visit their in years past! Well worth a watch.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Late Night

Nothing special but an enjoyable watch

(Edit) 06/01/2020

I've seen far worse lately. Total waste of John Lithgoes talents but an easy pay check I suppose. Devil wears Prada was much better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Star

Well worth a watch

(Edit) 23/12/2019

I've seen a lot of naff animated movies lately and didn't have high hopes for this one but it was really lovely. Well told and the characters were nicely developed. Clearly it helped seeing it the Sunday before Christmas! Children and adults alike will find something special in this film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rocketman

Dragged - felt like 4 hour film

(Edit) 02/12/2019

Ok, I'm not a fan of Elton John, this certainly did not change that. If someone had made this movie about him he'd have gone mad and sued them for every penny but as he is the exec producer of Rocketman he is clearly happy with this version! Can't think why? If I'd been the emotional wreck as he seems to have been then I'd have not wanted to expose it to one and all but clearly he thinks differently. He has turned his life around now, all credit to him but his early days are quite pitiful. I wanted to like him and feel sorry for him, but I just didn't. I loved the Queen biopic, but this just feels like jumping on the band wagon with less success. Perhaps you need to be a mega fan of Elton John to enjoy this!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midnight in Paris

Enchanting? We found it dull!

(Edit) 28/10/2019

Lots of people have said how enchanting this movie is. We found it ploddy, predictable and dull. We pre-empted the entire plot through to the inevitable conclusion. Yes Paris is pretty but it does not make a film. The speeches you can hear Woody Allens voice and his delivery in Owens performance. None of the characters are developed.

If you want mindless, light and frothy then this will do you. It felt like a rip off of Goodnight Sweetheart with Nicholas Lyndhurst just using a different time.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aladdin

Neh

(Edit) 21/10/2019

It was enjoyable but not worth the remake. The Disney animation classic is better, I'd watch that if I were you it is far superior.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Red Joan

Huge arguments

(Edit) 21/10/2019

I liked this movie but it led to big arguments among family and friends as to the morals it brought up. I won't say why as it is a spoiler but interesting how views differ.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Overboard

You need to stick with it ......

(Edit) 21/10/2019

It starts absolutely horrendous, I nearly switched it off but it does get going and it gets a lot lot better. If you can get to the point of the person going overboard then you are over the worst!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Leisure Seeker

Very weak

(Edit) 03/09/2019

My advice is don't bother. 2 great stars picked up a very easy pay check. There were a few interesting moments (like them getting separated) which should have led to something but they didn't. People watching their slides was very random. Kept thinking it would lead to something but again, no!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Favourite

Too arty

(Edit) 29/07/2019

Acting - superb

Cinematography - looking through a goldfish bowl didn't work for me

Music - mind numbingly appalling

Through some of the scenes there is a 2 tone noise that does nothing to add to atmosphere, it just makes you want to scream. Not sure what the director wanted to achieve by this but if it was to have people shouting 'make it stop' then he achieved his aim.

Coleman, Weisz and Stone put in stellar performances but let down by a director who wanted to turn this art-house.

TYPICAL OSCAR FODDER

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Wife

Seen a lot of rubbish lately so this was refreshing

(Edit) 01/05/2019

Don't know if I've rated higher because of the dross we've been seeing but this was nicely acted and a decent story. Worth a watch.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Madame

Didn't like it

(Edit) 25/04/2019

The story started well but it didn't go anywhere. Lots of characters with absolutely no purpose. Not worth your time.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Munich

Incredibly long and dull

(Edit) 11/03/2019

We really wanted to like this but you lose track of who they are chasing, you don't know where they are, you don't know how many are left to get and Eric Banas character is totally unlikeable so you are not routing for him.

150 mins felt like 4 hours!!!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Breathe

Beautiful movie

(Edit) 30/01/2019

Whenever I see a 'true story' I always have a look at the end to see just how true it really is. In this case what you see, is what actually happened.

This film has been produced by the couples son, he has made it as a loving tribute to 2 incredible parents. What you see (however implausible) is the truth. All the stuff in France in the layby actually happened. I thought that it must have been made up, but no.

A terrific story, well acted.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
1234

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month