Film Reviews by DH

Welcome to DH's film reviews page. DH has written 65 reviews and rated 131 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sabrina

Utter garbage

(Edit) 31/08/2021

Sorry but a stellar cast who just turned up for the paycheck. This is a terrible movie. I am an absolute fan of Hepburn not so much the mumbling over rated Bogart. Hepburn I didn't think made a bad movie but then we found this one. Dreadful!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blithe Spirit

Truly awful

(Edit) 15/06/2021

Ironically this film is about a screenwriter adapting a play. Shame the screenwriter who wrote this hadn't bothered to read the original script. Yes the names were the same and premis of Elvira returning was the same but just about everything else was wrong! It didn't even end the right way! I've been in this play and seen it countless numbers of times and the maid is pivotal. Nope not according to this. Totally ignored.

This should have been given another title as Blithe Spirit it was not! Judi Dench has played Madame Arcati at the Savoy so should have known better.

Didn't work!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

23 Walks

Meh (said that a lot lately)

(Edit) 19/04/2021

Not offensive but not interesting either. Daves voice is incredibly dull so he slows the movie down. It is all a bit ploddy and we came up with lots of twists that didn't happen. We also came up with quite a dramatic ending but no, they just fizzle out the end of the movie.

I've come to the conclusion that films made in 2020 should be abandoned as they are all bad and show no imagination. The only one that did show imagination was Tenet and my head still hurts from that one. I've read explanations but I'm still none the wiser! There must be a halfway house between these twoddly movies and Tenet. Something with a decent story, well made! Anyone want to have a go? Please?

Steadman was lovely as usual but it just didn't go anywhere.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Summerland

Boring

(Edit) 12/04/2021

Yet another movie that is dull and then when the titles come up at the end you find the leading lady is the executive producer (has put up the money).

So many I've seen that were made last year have followed a similar scenario. How can you be critical about a piece of work when you are too close to it. Actors should not put the money up but I understand last year was unusual but poor films are being made.

This is a tedious film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Great Alaskan Race

Cheaply made

(Edit) 29/03/2021

Some of the actors are truly awful, made me think of the generation game where the lines are pinned up in different places! How they got cast who knows!

The sad thing is that this is an amazing story which gets totally lost by thinking that showing a blizzard constantly means the viewer cannot see what the devil is going on. You cannot get the jeopardy and it turns a truly heart-warming story into meh!

Didn't care less about the lead actor or his daughter! The lead actor by the way wrote it, directed it, produced it and not only gave himself the lead role but cast his daughter too, I noticed another person with his surname in the cast list also!

Someone else could make this so much better and stronger. There is a great story here, they just didn't tell it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Secret Garden

Boring I'm afraid

(Edit) 08/03/2021

This whole film felt very lazy. Was it made for 3D? Lots of effects felt like they were meant to be seen that way? Birds and butterflies zooming into the camera.

Mary is not a sympathetic character, the book is written that way but she did not win me round which I think she should have done. I wasn't even rooting for Colin and his recovery. The only thing I invested in was the dog!

I'm a fan of Julie Walters but nothing for her to do here I'm afraid, even less for Colin Firth. We'd been looking forward to seeing this, kind of wish we hadn't bothered.

Un-offensive but un-inspiring also.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hope Gap

Don't bother

(Edit) 22/02/2021

2 people split up - the end. There you are I have saved you an hour and a half of you life. This film is not good. 2 great actors using clunky dialogue and both of their deliveries are so flat that it is incredibly dull. You actually feel like these 2 people actually deserve each other as they are both tedious and uninspiring.

It is a depressing film I'm afraid. The dog is nice and I liked the scene in the solicitors but that's it!

Avoid avoid avoid.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The High Note

Surprising film

(Edit) 08/02/2021

This was a nice movie. We googled Grace at the end to see if she had done her own singing. Discovered she is Diana Ross's daughter so yes she did sing! Very enjoyable, won't change the world but a feel good movie.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Christmas

Really lovely film

(Edit) 04/01/2021

I think people have been a bit hard on this movie. If you like Love Actually then you'll enjoy this. It is beautifully acted and has a beginning, middle and end which is not always the case! Emma T is a great script writer. Kate is a tricky character as she is difficult to like at first but you need to stay with it to find out her back story!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Astronaut

Garbage

(Edit) 18/11/2020

The 2 executive producers (the ones who put up the money) are Dreyfus and the guy who plays his son in law! Enough said!

This is so bad and clearly a vehicle for them both. You are supposed to believe that no one checks anything. If you want to be on X Factor they check your passport but no we don't bother if you are going into space and feel free to just wander around a top secret establishment and join the CEO in the boardroom. Who wrote this rubbish?

Always a disaster when the star is involved in the decision making as they are too close!

Avoid avoid avoid

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Roman Holiday

Fabulous film

(Edit) 19/10/2020

This is an absolute classic! A fabulous film. Ms Hepburn is stunning in it. If you want a feel good movie then they don't come much better than this.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Keeper

Very good movie

(Edit) 28/09/2020

Did not have high hopes as I hate war movies and I also hate football so the combination did not bode well for this film. However it is well done and struck a balance that I could cope with.

The base of the story is true. I checked it out afterwards and it seemed pretty factual. The romance is of course layered on so who knows what is true there but it didn't matter.

There is also the fact that they made him a sympathetic character, from what I've read if they depicted him as he really was then you would not have liked him as much and been routing for him. Stories like this always embellish to produce a rounded story.

I thought it was a good watch and would cleverly appeal to those who like war/football and those who like romances.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Giver

OK but left a lot of unanswered questions

(Edit) 14/09/2020

I had to read the full book synopsis online after seeing the movie and it filled in a few gaps which were problematic. Interestingly it states that this should be a story about an 11 year boy, the film depicts him as much older but they wanted a love story so I can see why they did that! This is basically a new take on Logans Run from the 70's. Don't know how the author got away with calling it a new piece of fiction, it wasn't. This isn't bad, it just didn't feel very new. Meryl Streep had more than a bit part and is always watchable. They crammed too much into 93 mins. If they put some more flesh on it by making it a normal 120 mins then it might have been a better movie. I shouldn't have had to read the book review to get the answers I needed about where the babies came from (sounds odd but you'll realise what I mean if you see the film) and why they couldn't keep them all. The book explains it.

Our main problem was not the film makers fault at all. They were talking about a society where they were being told what to do, told they couldn't touch, couldn't meet people, couldn't go out at night. They showed memories of better days when people were at large weddings, travelling the world and he looks with tears in his eyes. Well so did we! All the things we are currently being denied. Their sterile world felt very familiar to our world post Covid and it made it really sad so lost a bit of the magic. I wouldn't watch until these horrible times have passed! I'm sure it will land better in the future as it should show you stuff you take for granted except we don't at the moment.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Charlie's Angels

Dull

(Edit) 10/08/2020

OK I made a mistake here. When I get a movie I usually check that someone in the movie is not involved in the production as they are incapable of being subjective. Sometimes it works but not on too many occasions, mostly it turns into an ego trip. Who should I cast? I know! Me!

One of the leading members of this cast was not satisfied that she take a large role in a screenplay that she WROTE but she also directed and produced it too!!!! The end result is an abysmal film.

We didn't care about any of the characters. All the nostalgia of the original series has gone.

If you like car chases then you might like it otherwise avoid as it is pretty rubbish and thoroughly disappointing!

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Heaven Can Wait

Ego trip

(Edit) 22/06/2020

Beatty wrote the screen play, directed, acted and produced. This is an ego trip for him and it's not even very good. To get as many Oscar nods as it did means that standards were not very high in the 70's or maybe we now just expect more.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12345