Film Reviews by JB

Welcome to JB's film reviews page. JB has written 16 reviews and rated 51 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Rainy Day in New York

Typical Woody

(Edit) 23/01/2021

Liked this film more than I thought I would .A young college couple go to New York for a weekend .Him to show her all the places he knows and her to do an interview for her college paper with a well known film director.They get split up and he meets a sister of someone he used to go out with and they get on very well in the rain .She meanwhile ,has 3 different men in the film industry try to seduce her,the last one,a heartthrob actor,would have succeeded if his partner hadn't arrived home unexpectedly. Being a Woody film the banter is everything.I did enjoy it hence the 4 stars .JB

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mule

He's still got it

(Edit) 20/01/2021

Really enjoyed this film about a man in his 80s who needs money with his flower farm facing foreclosure he gets a job smuggling drugs out of Mexico into the U S. In an old beat up pick up .Its an ideal cover and although drug enforcement know someone is bringing large quantities of drugs in to the country they dont know how .Clint Eastwood is the drug runner and he keeps needing more money for friends and family so keeps doing the runs. Tense moments in the film as police close in on him and also light moments as hes a bit of a ladies man .All in all a good film well acted and believable story line .5 stars .JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Christmas

A positive review

(Edit) 10/01/2021

I enjoyed this film and think it's worth 4 stars .It's about a selfish hedonist called Kate who works in an all year round Christmas shop dressed as an elf.She meets a man Tom who is obviously keen on her but he keeps disappearing after convincing her to work in a homeless hostel .You find out why she's selfish and uncaring along the way and I didn't guess the ending which was a big surprise to me .Overall a pleasant film,well acted and nice to watch. JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Come as You Are

Too much swearing

(Edit) 10/01/2021

An ok film about 3 disabled men travelling to a brothel to lose their virginity .The brothel caters for disabled men ,and they are driven to it by a black carer.With a few mishaps on the way they get there and 2 of them fulfill the task,wont spoil it why the 3rd doesn't. A bit too much swearing for me .JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

We're the Millers

Laugh out loud in places

(Edit) 10/01/2021

I did enjoy this film a lot .Its about a small time drug dealer who gets mugged of drug money and can't pay his supplier so has to do a massive drug run from Mexico. He thinks it best to pretend to be a family,so he enlists a stripper (Jennifer Aniston) to be his wife and 2 losers ,a boy and a girl to be their children and off they go in camper van to Mexico .Lots of capers on the way and lots of laughs too .watch it for the fun and Jennifer Aniston doing a striptease to convince the baddies she really is a stripper .JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The High Note

Good music

(Edit) 20/12/2020

I enjoyed this film a lot .The characters were all believable and the music and singing great .Its a good feel film eventually with a surprise at the end. JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Personal History of David Copperfield

Disappointed

(Edit) 20/12/2020

Have enjoyed Armando Iannucci stuff before but couldn't get on with film I'm afraid .Not funny. Couldn't see the any point to it to be honest .JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Untouchable

Great story

(Edit) 20/12/2020

Really enjoyed this film,it was so uplifting and based on a true story. A disabled millionaire employed a young black man t take care of him and he is a bit rough and ready .He does lots of unusual things for him and makes him happy . Well worth a watch.JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manchester by the Sea

Miserable

(Edit) 20/12/2020

There is no happy scenes in this film,yes well acted but depressing. I know it's not easy to portray a father who is to blame for his 3 children dying in a fire but there's no happiness in it at all .sorry not my cup of tea. JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dark Waters

How do they sleep at night

(Edit) 20/12/2020

Hard to believe this is a true story.One man investigated it and thank god he did . Another example of big business valueing money over peoples lives .I dont know how these people sleep at night badly I hope .JB

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Knives Out

Daniel Craig's accent

(Edit) 23/11/2020

A really good who dunnit Theres so many suspects it could be anyone in the cast of family and staff . Daniel Craig's southern drawl is a bit off putting but you do get used to it .He's a bit like Sherlock Holmes the way he works everything out and he's not even a cop but a private eye .I read a lot of crime novels and the plot in this is one of the best . JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blinded by the Light

Born to run

(Edit) 14/11/2020

A nice film with good music about a teenage British Muslim growing up in Luton .He is torn between obeying his fathers Muslim code and trying a more western life once he discovers Bruce Springsteen. The lyrics to the songs of BS seem to mirror how he feels about Luton and wanting to get out of the place .He wants to be a writer and is quite good ,and is encouraged by a teacher.Of course there is a love interest and the National Front make an appearance being Luton.All ends well with him going to University and getting on great with his dad. I enjoyed it .JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

The genre needs changing,comedy it is not

(Edit) 06/11/2020

A good film all in all .A bit violent in places but very well acted with very believable characters .The Frances Mcdormand characters daughter was raped &murdered and she doesn't think the police have done enough to solve it .She rents 3 billboards and puts on them how useless the police are. The police chief ( Woody Harrelson) is dying of cancer so the whole town is against her for putting them up .One police man is a nasty racist bigot,who does have a change of perspective when the chief dies. An enjoyable film that won several awards .JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Military Wives

Not my cup of tea but the film has merit

(Edit) 01/11/2020

Perhaps 3 stars is a bit mean but didnt think it worthy of 4 .Well acted ,cast are believable but lacks a spark.I won't share the plot line as I think you probably know it .Suffice to say the speed that the "choir" went from 1st practice to a perfect song at the Albert Hall was very quick .To the films credit it's meant wives in the military starting choirs all over the world so fair play to it.Would have given it 3/& a half if I could. JB

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yesterday

A Rolling Stones fan

(Edit) 30/10/2020

You need to suspend your belief to really enjoy this film. Jack Malick (Himesh Patel) is a struggling singer songwriter whose manager is schoolteacher Ellie (Lily James ) .Jack is knocked unconscious in an accident with a bus just when a meteorite hits earth and all the lights in the world go out for 12 seconds ,which somehow wipes peoples memories of certain things including The Beatles .Jack still remembers them but cant understand why no one else does .So he has this plethora of great songs that no one else has heard before .He starts by singing them at the small gigs he gets and slowly gets noticed .The 1st one he sings is Yesterday,when he still thinks people remember the Beatles,to his friends who are stunned and ask him when he wrote such a beautiful song .He tells them it's the Beatles but they havent a clue who that is .His reputation grows and grows with all these fabulous songs people are hearing for the 1st time.Theres a great cameo from Ed Sheeran ,although it's a bit more than that.Lily James is the love interest but is not straightforward.I gave this film 5 stars because I really enjoyed it,and to me that's what matters .A twist at the end is good as well .John Bushe

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12