Film Reviews by DB

Welcome to DB's film reviews page. DB has written 26 reviews and rated 197 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Searching

One issue nearly derails the film

(Edit) Updated 27/09/2019

Very interesting and thoughtful film in the way it is presented. A little like Unfriended from a few years ago but using many more tools to weave through the story. Performances are very good from the key cast members except for Debra Messings character. Completely unbelievable, static and woefully miscast. It does look like she cannot be bothered most of the time, which nearly derails the film completely. Fortunately, the other cast members are watchable and the story holds your attention very well and you genuinely care about what happens. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Kid Who Would Be King

Abysmal!

(Edit) 16/09/2019

Don't wish to be harsh but this film was truly terrible. The script was poorly written with lots of explanation exposition, the 'acting' was non-existent and the story itself was plodding, predictable and offered no surprises at all. I couldn't recommend this in any way, shape or form.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Orange Is the New Black: Series 6

Persevere - Takes some time

(Edit) 27/06/2019

This series of OiTNB starts off very slowly and can be quite tough to watch at times as some of our favourite characters are put through the ringer. But persevere. It does get much better to provide an ultimately uplifting and devastating ending at the same time. Cannot wait for the final 7th series to be shown and released.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lion

Stunning

(Edit) 17/05/2019

Absolutely stunning! Wonderful film making, superbly acted and an extremely emotional film. A must see!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Downsizing

Entertaining

(Edit) 11/06/2018

Very interesting and entertaining film. The concept is a good one that hints at bigger questions but doesn't really look to answer them. The film is about unlikely relationships and the impact of humans on our planet and environment. The film is funny, touching and emotional with some great ideas. It is not really open to a sequel but I wanted to see more of the in film universe after the film had finished.

An accomplished, entertaining and enjoyable film with a great cast and a very interesting concept.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Colony: Series 1

Excellent, well thought out Sci-Fi

(Edit) 14/03/2018

Pleasantly surprised by this series. Cannot remember why we added it to our list but so glad we did. Nothing is spoon fed to you and going in blind is an excellent way to watch. Nothing is really shown and you have to piece together what is happening yourself, especially during the pilot episode. But it is a well thought out, intriguing and interesting show. It is firmly based around the main family but also the politics of the Colony, which you gradually learn more about as the series progresses. It doesn't give you a history lesson as to how everything came about and is not full of special effects and big explosions (though there are some). It is about the family unit, the wider society and doing what it takes to survive. A very good series and I'm looking forward to watching the second one soon to try and find out more answers to what actually is going on and the motivations behind everything. Highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Small Foot

Disappointing

(Edit) 12/04/2019

After reading some good reviews for this film, I was ultimately disappointed. A couple of laugh out loud moments aside, the story is predictable and just a little bit dull. I admit, I'm not the target audience, but normally with this type of film, there are more layers or depth, but not with this. And please, can we not let James Corden get anywhere near another film for voice acting. Woeful performance which made his character totally unbelievable and annoying.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom

Extremely disappointing

(Edit) 31/01/2019

Much like The Lost World following the original Jurassic Park, this is ultimately an extremely boring, unoriginal follow-up which is only worth watching for the CGI dinosaurs. Boring story, no jaw dropping set pieces and only hints at what could've been something good. Ultimately, if you like the JP franchise, you'll get some enjoyment out of this, but don't get your hopes up.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Molly's Game

Interesting story

(Edit) 14/01/2019

Disagree with the negative reviews for this film. Engaging story with excellent acting. You don't need to know the mechanics of poker to enjoy the film. We thoroughly enjoyed the film and felt sympathy for the lead character from the beginning. Would recommend completely.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Backtrack

Worth sticking to the end

(Edit) 14/01/2019

Enjoyed this film eventually. Started very, very slowly and was quite dull until about midway through when it became much more interesting. Not the most startling or surprising film we've ever seen, but actually pretty good. Does get better towards the end.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Anguish

Boring and dull

(Edit) 14/01/2019

Boring and dull! Nothing much happens. Got an extra star for not following the usual religious path that films of this ilk usually go down, but could still not recommend. Best part happens in the first couple of minutes.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Colony: Series 2

Highly Recommended!

(Edit) 18/12/2018

Series 2 picks up directly from the 1st series and carries on the exceptionally high quality seen in the first series with great acting, a believable story, an excellent script and a group of characters that you are rooting for. The fact that even the people you perceive as baddies you are secretly rooting for as well, just shows the many levels and twists and turns that the series has. At points, it is quite bleak however the focus remains on the family unit and doing what you have to to survive, but not in an evil, sadistic way like The Walking Dead has gone in recent series. I would recommend Colony completely, it is one of the best series I've seen in recent years. I'm hoping it gets a proper ending in Series 3 now that it has been cancelled but knowing American syndicates, I doubt it. Still, I@m looking forward to seeing what the 3rd series holds.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Night of the Living Deb

Cheap but inventive

(Edit) 10/12/2018

What a surprise this film was! Yes, some of the acting is dodgy and the special effects at times were ropy. However the script was surprisingly funny, laugh out loud at times, and every time we picked up on a potential plot hole, a few minutes later it would be explained in a very logical way. So, what starts as a cheap rip-off of other Zombie films actually turns into a decent, funny and well thought out film that we thoroughly enjoyed. If you like Zombie films of the 'Zombieland' ilk, you should like this as well.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sing Street

Ridiculous!

(Edit) 08/10/2018

Complete and utter ridiculous film fantasy... but who cares, that is what films are supposed to be like, we loved it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Big Short

Absorbing and Interesting

(Edit) 16/08/2018

If you are interested in 'issues' and about learning how things have happened, this film is for you. Yes, it can be confusing and you do need to concentrate however it is uterly absorbing, entertaining but most importantly it shows exactly what caused the economic crisis and who was to blame. The performances are excellent and you really root for the main characters despite them betting on failure. A wonderful film, that most people will enjoy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month