Film Reviews by TR

Welcome to TR's film reviews page. TR has written 54 reviews and rated 30 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Widows

A crashing bore!

(Edit) 25/05/2019

What a boring film! The pace is slower than a snail with sciatica. I kept having to watch this in small chunks to combat the risk of falling asleep. The storyline could have been compressed into 45 minutes or less. Lots of emoting and little action.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lucky

HDS with his old muckers for one last go-round

(Edit) 19/04/2019

Fine as far as it goes, which isn't very far at all. Reminded me of the John Wayne, or is it Juan Wayne? vehicle "The Shootist", where a stalwart of the screen gets together with a few of his ol' buddies. That old cowboy is referenced here as well! Great to see HDS old muckers like Tom Skerritt from "Alien", and HDS director David Lynch, (in probably the most inconsequential cameo in the history of film), his director from a similar piece, "The Straight Story."

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Peterloo

Ironically, as condescending as the upper-classes it sets out to mock.

(Edit) 31/03/2019

I don't like being fed expository dialogue about the Corn Laws and Habeus Corpus, like I was some uneducated idiot. I expect authenticity and scenes that aren't just a series of speeches lazily stitched together. I've long since lost faith in Mike Leigh, but this represents a new low. Condescending and full of its own self-importance, not unlike the elites it purports to mock.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Man

The best "Space Race" film yet.

(Edit) 31/03/2019

A great effort at recreating the sheer hard graft needed to get men to the Moon, much, much better than other feeble efforts to get this story off the ground.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bad Neighbours

Crude, forced humour.

(Edit) 23/03/2019

This thinks it's being daring, but it hasn't got anything in its locker. Just crude references and a lot of shouting. No subtlety, and the most unsympathetic, self-absorbed types I've ever seen committed to celluloid. I watched it to the end because I don't want to waste my subscription.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The King

Oh...take that car back!!

(Edit) 05/03/2019

When this isn't rehashing the old stuff we've heard time and again..Elvis was a poor kid made good, a white guy singing black music, blah, blah, blah, it comes out with utter baloney. Elvis and America rising and falling together in tandem? Elvis and King Kong? Let's get a few cool dudes and gals in the back of Elvis' ol' car and stick a microphone under their nose!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Apostasy

Where's Steve Evets?

(Edit) 04/03/2019

Great film, understated acting, and an insight into JW. But where's the Heir Apparent of Kitchen Sink drama, Steve Evets? He's credited but doesn't appear!

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Upgrade

Been done before, but that's fine.

(Edit) 21/02/2019

Low-budget, and done before, but rarely with as much style and humour. Tom Hardy and Dane DeHaan lookalikes excel.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

McQueen

It's just clothes!

(Edit) 22/02/2019

There was nothing here that I hadn't heard or seen a million times before, except for the clothes, but some of these were so outlandish they couldn't be worn away from the catwalk. I mean, what's the point? I know, a lover of haute couture wouldn't need to ask that question!

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Sense of an Ending

Boy, does this love itself, or what?

(Edit) 10/02/2019

Self-obsessed, upper-middle-class twits yakking on about themselves, perfect maybe for post-Brexit Britain, but of zero interest as entertainment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Gunman

Bourne-Lite

(Edit) 28/01/2019

A world-weary Jason Bourne clone globe-trots and duffs over bad guys en route. Decent enough, but can't hold a candle to THAT franchise. What possibly can??

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Reformed

A "Taxi Driver" for our times!

(Edit) 13/01/2019

Compelling story, topical, first-person voiceover that doesn't patronise, an Oscar-worthy central performance. A "Taxi Driver" for our times.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Elvis Lives

"Aloha From Hawaii"repackaged

(Edit) 08/01/2019

Disappointing to see that the majority of this is the old "Aloha From Hawaii" concert and what seems to be concert footage from "That's the Way It Is" repackaged as a "live" tribute concert. I'd rather watch the old concert and go back to the film without having to put up with the constant jumping between the now-older band members and their younger selves which we get here, and the anecdotes which I can't see being of interest to anyone but the band members themselves. A misfire, unfortunately.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hereditary

Creepy, weird, offbeat, and a classic!

(Edit) 30/12/2018

Great performances and creepiness. As much a superbly-performed story of a family going down the tubes as anything else.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mother!

One of the films of the decade

(Edit) 01/12/2018

A work of genius, a thousand meanings underneath the surface, with a different one for each viewing. Loved and hated in equal measure, but isn't that the sign of greatness rather than the opposite?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month