Film Reviews by jM

Welcome to jM's film reviews page. jM has written 19 reviews and rated 23 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ema

Tedious and confused

(Edit) 13/08/2020

Quite apart from the tedium  of watching this confused narrative, which wandered all over the place without any real coherence for the watcher, one cannot help but think that this a pretentious, self-absorbed film by its director. 

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Nobel

Deserves all of its awards

(Edit) 15/04/2020

One of the most convincing films/series about the complications of the war in Afghanistan. Focussing on a Norwegian special forces unit, the episodes set in the war zone were tense and realistic, but did not overplay the violent action. Most of the series, however, dealt with the political ramifications and complications of the actions of the unit, whose actions were aimed at carrying out political initiatives. At the personal level leading members of the unit had to engage with their different challenges after their return to Norway. The acting was absolutely superb and the conflicting emotions off all were subtly expressed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Judy

Mediocre at best

(Edit) 16/03/2020

I am not quite sure what all the fuss was about or why this film was deemed Oscar-worthy. Zellweger made the usual Zellweger faces and the film as a whole focussed on a very limited, and depressing, part of Judy's life. What was missing was a narrative which explained the descent from stardom to disaster. The brief glimpses of her early years as a child-star implied too facile an explanation for the grimness into which Judy descended.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Support the Girls

Incomprehensible

(Edit) 27/12/2019

This may have been an attempt to show the problems of running a bar with scantily clad waitresses, but it meandered along seemingly without a comprehensible story-line, incoherent dialogue, and banal characterisation. Can't imagine what the message was supposed to be.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Girl

sensitive

(Edit) 14/11/2019

Beautifully and sensitively portrayal of a teenaged boy, aspiring to be a ballet dancer, who underwent a sex-change. While there would be a temptation to push things to extremes, the wonderfully underplayed role on the young actor left you in no doubt at any moment how he was feeling without his expressing his emotions verbally.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

An Impossible Love

Brilliant

(Edit) 25/10/2019

Very sensitive film about the impact of an abusive relationship in her youth on a young single mother and subsequently on her daughter. The acting was convincing, that of the mother, as she progressed to her later years, particularly so. Virginie Efira's understated reaction to all the painful incidents to which she was exposed conveyed the depth of her personal pain more effectively than an excess of emotion.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Capernaum

Touching

(Edit) 09/09/2019

A very touching portrayal of what life is like for refugees in Lebanon. While the dialogue is spare, the acting is outstanding, in particular the young boy who struggles valiantly to deal with impossible circumstances. His relationship with the toddler, whose reactions are completely natural and must have required many hours of patient camera-work to capture, is moving and almost heroical.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guilty

tense and gripping

(Edit) 06/09/2019

From a relatively quiet start, the film gradually raises the tension in a way which is completely absorbing. In what is virtually a one-hander the lead actor carries his role off with conviction and we watch as he has to interpret and reinterpret the various emergency calls which he receives until he arrives at the awful truth.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fisherman's Friends

Uplifting and diverting

(Edit) 28/08/2019

Despite some less than enthusiastic reviews in the media, this was a wonderful and charming little film, based on a true story. It may have been a bit formulaic and predictable, it was no less enjoyable for that.  The music and the gentle humour was outstanding and the acting excellent.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

You Were Never Really Here

Uninteresting, unedifying, and pretentious.

(Edit) 01/03/2019

I simply cannot understand why critics heap their praises on a film which is so dull and with such a shallow plot. My wife and I had turned on the subtitles, but we might as well not have bothered since there was so little spoken dialogue. This strikes me as a vanity project for Ramsey, appealing to a such a very audience.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sanctuary

Humorous, tender, and thought-provoking

(Edit) 13/11/2018

What a remarkable film! Using actors with disabilities, this film encourages its audience both to see the funny aspects of the situations which develop, but also to think seriously about the questions it raises.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Una

Tedious

(Edit) 15/09/2018

While the acting was convincing and the cinematography was impressive, a challenging issue was rendered dull by a presentation which lacked energy and imagination. Had this been a stage performance the numerous long silences would have put the audience to sleep.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hostiles

Honest

(Edit) 24/09/2018

Despite the grim violence of certain scenes, this was an honest and critical portrayal of history. And it did have a positive, redemptive message, despite the fact that the attitudes of some would never change

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Ghost Story

Awful

(Edit) 17/08/2018

One doesn't have to watch characters saying and doing virtually nothing for an hour and half to understand the impact of the loss of a loved one. Pretentious to sat the least!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Florida Project

Overrated!

(Edit) 23/03/2018

Well, the message was pretty obvious, but did it need almost two hours of our time to hammer it home. One could have shot a film of underprivileged children being allowed to run amok and to carry out malicious pranks in any city anywhere in North America or Europe. While the children gave convincing performances, do we need to have our ears assailed with unremitting swearing throughout the film? As for the pranks, they weren't particularly funny and the repetition was pretty tedious.

8 out of 14 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month