Film Reviews by SM

Welcome to SM's film reviews page. SM has written 35 reviews and rated 35 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hampstead

HAMPSTEAD

(Edit) 16/05/2018

A lovely, lovely film for a Sunday afternoon. Great actors and beautifully presented & photographed.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Merry Gentleman

THE MERRY GENTLEMAN

(Edit) 30/04/2018

Not really very good. It never got going despite 2 main actors. I stayed with it as I thought It would go deeper, but it never did.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blue Jasmine

BLUE JASMINE

(Edit) 22/04/2018

Even though I don't like Woody Allen films I thought I would try this one due to the actors in it. Don't bother, not worth it!!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

London Has Fallen

LONDON HAS FALLEN

(Edit) 09/04/2018

A bit exaggerated and obviously a lot of IT involved in the making of this film, but it did hold me to my seat & at one point made me cry!! It scared me too as it seemed too close to a truth that could happen during this difficult times.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Me Before You

ME BEFORE YOU

(Edit) 08/04/2018

Why does a book always weaken watching the film. I had only just read it and it felt more powerful than the film. Your own imagination I suppose? It's ok to watch but too polished and light like Bridget Jones!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Maggie's Plan

MAGGIE'S PLAN

(Edit) 04/04/2018

Didn't really like this film. Understood the premise but not really much substance to it. Surprised at Julianne Moore bothering.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

10 Cloverfield Lane

10 CLOVERFIELD LANE

(Edit) 23/03/2018

Quite a weird story line, but it does keep you on the edge of your seat. A few twists and turns along the way. John Goodman always good.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Christmas Eve

CHRISTMAS EVE

(Edit) 22/03/2018

An absolute rubbish film. I am surprised at Patrick Stewart appearing in it. Not even really Christmassy!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Same Time, Next Year

SAME TIME NEXT YEAR

(Edit) 16/03/2018

I absolutely love this film. It is so advanced for it's date and so well acted. I have seen it about 3 times now. It's clever.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Big Short

THE BIG SHORT

(Edit) 09/03/2018

I only chose this film because of Ryan Gosling who I really like, but I could not understand a single word of it. I tried!!

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Christmas with the Coopers

CHRISTMAS WITH THE COOPERS

(Edit) 08/03/2018

I didn't really like this film despite all the good actors in it. Not all all believable & at times tedious.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blame

BLAME

(Edit) 02/03/2018

3 stars because I did watch it all and it did twist and turn a lot in the plot, but that is about it. The best laid plans....................

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wakefield

WAKFIELD

(Edit) 14/02/2018

I did like this, but I found the concept a little disconcerting as the wife was being watched all the time. Made me a little uncomfortable. An unusual take on a relationship.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Theory of Everything

THE THEORY OF EVERYTHING

(Edit) 04/02/2018

A brilliant film that I sometimes found difficult to watch, very emotional. Eddie Redmayne was amazing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Love Is Strange

LOVE IS STRANGE

(Edit) 01/02/2018

A very nice film. Quietly moving & makes you think about all different sorts of relationships. Love the NY background.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month