Film Reviews by RD

Welcome to RD's film reviews page. RD has written 23 reviews and rated 100 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Total Recall

Oldie but goodie

(Edit) 27/11/2021

As the other review said, this film is 30 years old, but if you're a science fiction fan (or an Arnie fan), it's an enjoyable romp.

This has to take the title for the best cheesy Arnie one-liners ever :D

The next time I click 'Contact Us' on a website and get a bot saying 'I'm sorry, I did not understand your query', I will be asking it if it is Johnny-Cab.

I'm not sure the 4K version adds anything tho

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Finding the Way Back

Underrated and definitely worth a watch

(Edit) 20/11/2021

I think the other reviews do this film a disservice. Although there is a sport theme running throughout, I wouldn't say it's a sports film.

As other reviews have mention, the earlier detail of the matches is skipped over to progress the story.

At it's heart it's a story of a broken life, how we deal with it, how it affects us, how we can possibly move on.

None of these ideas are resolved; if they were, we would be venturing into cliche territory.

There are no answers here, just observations

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Radioactive

Bear with it

(Edit) 29/10/2021

The first half is plodding, a bit boring and all over the place.

I was so close to turning it off.

The second half was definitely better

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

District 9

Still good after all these years

(Edit) 22/10/2021

I saw this in the cinema on release and loved it.

10+ years later on 4K it is definitely worth a revisit.

'Don't point, those bloody tentacles, at me!' xD

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jumanji: The Next Level

Decent enough sequel

(Edit) 20/08/2021

I mean, nobody expects sequels to be much better than the original do they ?

Has enough different ideas to be entertaining. though not amazing.

Worth it for Danny's final use of the character alone (trying not to give spoilers)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The 12th Man

Loved it

(Edit) 17/07/2021

A thoroughly moving film, and the fact that it is based on a true story should make it even more so.

Yes, it is long, but you wouldn't expect an epic journey to be finished in thirty minutes, would you?

In my opinion, a good film should connect with you emotionally, and this one certainly does.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Assistant

A film for people who have never had a demanding job

(Edit) 03/07/2021

The premise of this film seems to be 'girl gets depressed when corporate life isn't the fairy tale she thought it would be'.

The first rule of corporate life is cover your own arse. This girl hasn't realised it yet.

The assumption that behaviour towards her is sexism could also be explained by power. The lowest rung will always get crapped on.

Admittedly the HR dude's attitude is overboard, but at the same time, she was naive to think her 'feelings' would ever stand up in a tribunal without any facts.

HR are there to protect the company, not the employees.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Greed

Ok, but preachy

(Edit) 19/06/2021

Much of what I have to say has been said by other reviewers.

There are some amusing moments, mostly in the flashbacks to youth. The cast is star-studded.

But it does suffer from the preachy message it rams down the throat of the viewer.

I think we all agree that sweatshops are bad, but I'm not exactly sure how the makers are expecting businesses to operate. The lower the costs, the greater the profits. And profits are the goal of business, especially for public companies.

It's hypocritical to demonise capitalism whilst at the same time being avid consumers with iPads, £1000 iPhones, disposable fashion replaced every week, etc. etc.

And sensationalist messages such as 'sweatshop workers earn the equivalent of £3.63 a day' are meaningless if compared to UK living as is the intention.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Promare

Confusing. But good.

(Edit) 11/06/2021

I'm not a huge fan of anime, so if you are you might give it more stars.

Takes a while to get going.

Best line: 'STOP. MAKING UP. STUPID NAMES!' xD

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Gentlemen

Was expecting less, but got more

(Edit) 16/04/2021

I've watched a lot of films recently and most of them have been mediocre.

When I started to watch this I wasn't aware it was Guy Ritchie till I came back to look on Cinema Paradiso, at which point I expected less. Could it compare to Snatch and Lock Stock?

Turned out it could. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and it is definitely one of the better films I've seen recently

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Assassination Nation

Pretty much garbage..

(Edit) 20/02/2021

The first half of this film seems to operate on the incorrect premise that anything you post on the internet is private until there is a 'hack'.

Guess what? It's not.

The girls aren't to blame though. It's sochal meeja's fault.

Guess what again? It's not mandatory.

Then the consequences of their actions catch up with them. Shocker.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fahrenheit 11/9

Makes you glad you're not American

(Edit) 13/02/2021

As others have said, this film does have its flaws. But the world needs a Michael Moore, there can be no doubt of that.

P.S. Why does the critic review contain so many misspellings? There is no such word as 'baffonish'. And the town in question is 'Flint', not 'Flynt'.

Very poor :|

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Zombieland: Double Tap

I ain't afraid of no ghost

(Edit) 29/01/2021

Mildly entertaining, but let's be honest, there will never be a better zombie film than Shaun of the Dead. This film even copies the whole 'another group of zombie slayers who are similar to the main group'

Bonus points (as ever) for the Murray

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shaun of the Dead

Multi-layered

(Edit) 29/01/2021

Comedy genius. This film needs to be watched multiple times to appreciate all the subtleties.

The first half basically being a rehearsal for the second half.

And the classic lines:

'You've got red on you'.

'The first one'

Etc. Etc.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

Too good for kids

(Edit) 08/01/2021

No doubt as this is a Disney film it will be assumed it's for kids.

But calling it a kids film is underestimating it.

I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I liked the way it branched out from the first film's story line.

And you can't deny how hot Angie looks with her hair down <3

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12