Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 40 reviews and rated 40 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Human Race

The Human Race (2013) - The finish couldn't come quick enough

(Edit) 26/05/2014

I don't know what it is that makes film makers believe that blood and gore alone will keep their audience watching or that constantly flick from one time scene to another will work either.

I do know that mindless, story lacking, repetitive bloody killing, poor acting does make you turn the disc off and watch a repeat of Mrs Brown's Boys on a terrestrial channel.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Thor: The Dark World

Thor: The Dark World (2013) - Just like the comic version, you end up wanting the next edition

(Edit) 26/05/2014

Great film, good acting, strong characters, great action sequences, superb special effects. If you used to read the comics as a child and was an avid fan, this adaptation of your hero couldn't be done better. If you weren't, you will still enjoy this movie for the pure effort put in to making it.

As the critic says quite rightly, this film "will make you want to come back for more."

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

How I Live Now

How I Live Now - a severely imbalanced story-line hurts this movie and what the makers intended

(Edit) 21/05/2014

For me the tale of survival should have been the main stay of the movie, that would have made it more interesting, unfortunately it isn't and for me the movie end up being to much 'teen romance' orientated.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Emperor

Emperor - If you are looking for a film with a sense of realism, give this one a go

(Edit) 21/05/2014

Matthew Fox,Tommy Lee Jones, Eriko Hatsune and Toshiyuki Nishida all perform admirably in this film, portraying their characters with thought and professionalism. This film is not one for those looking for just another war type film because if anything it is anti-war in its portrayal of the ramifications of going to war both for the people of the nation doing so and for those taking a nation into it.

If you are looking for a film with a sense of realism, attempting to show a time in history then give this one a go. If you are looking for a shoot 'em' up action sequences, this movie is not for you.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Battle of the Damned

Battle of the Damned (2013) - "Damned" - You must to must be to watch this

(Edit) 17/05/2014

I will keep this short and sweet - what a waste of the movie backers money. I lost track of how many times in the first twenty minutes of the movie Dolph Lundgren,used the same moves to kill numerous zombies who seemed to just walk up to him to be cut down by his bowie/commando type knife.

B.M.T. - boring, mindless tripe and Dolph Lundgren,still hasn't improved his acting skills (if you can call them that).

Give this DVD a wide berth.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Fifth Estate

Benedict Cumberbatch fans will like it otherwise the average viewer will go away feeling let down

(Edit) 16/05/2014

If it wasn't for the acting skills of Benedict Cumberbatch I think I would have turned the movie off after the first hour. The subject matter could have been dealt with a whole lot better than it is by the director, and if more thought had been put into the story and how to portray it prior to putting it on film all concerned would have been quids in and the viewing audience would have lavished it in praise.

Definitely a movie for hardcore fans of Benedict's skills (who was excellent), otherwise the average viewer will go away thinking they've been cheated and left unsatisfied.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Captain Phillips

CRACKING MOVIE - TOM HANKS AT HIS BEST

(Edit) 12/05/2014

Simply put - THIS MOVIE IS WORTH YOUR SUBSCRIPTION FEE, GREAT ACTING, GREAT SCRIPT, GREAT CAST. BUY A BOX OF POPCORN AND A CASE OF BEER, SIT BACK ON YOUR SOFA, PUT YOUR FEET UP AND ENJOY .............END OF........

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The World's End

That's 104 minutes of my life wasted which I can't get back. Dreadful........

(Edit) 11/05/2014

Not a patch on 'Shaun of the Dead' and 'Hot Fuzz' - didn't laugh once as the script writers failed to produce any 'gags' for the script and there was nothing funny visually. I sat hoping for something of the 'shaun of the dead ' standard and got nothing. That's 104 minutes of my life wasted which I can't get back.

Dreadful........

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Prisoners

Watchable -but could have been made a lot better

(Edit) 05/05/2014

Better editing could have cut the viewing time down as this movie is way to long for its content which towards the end loses the viewers interest as you end up feeling that you just want it to finish instead of wanting to see more.

Can't complain about the quality of the acting especially from the lead actors.

Other movie makers have covered this subject matter better, but give it a go and decide for yourself.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hummingbird

Hummingbird (2013) - "worth a look"

(Edit) 05/05/2014

If you are a Jason Statham fan don't e expecting the usual 'couple of words when I speak' Statham. In this flick he acts as much as he fights. Centering around a man with his own demons who drags himself out of the gutter, first to meet his own needs, then to do good by others, righting wrongs and finishing up.............well you will need to watch the movie to find that out.

In this movie Statham shows he can actually act as well as fight and this movie is a fine example of him doing both.

Check it out folks...........

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Ranger

The Ranger (2011)

(Edit) 05/05/2014

Wouldn't watch again, though the cover picture reminds me of Clint Eastwood in classics like 'Hang Em High' - Clint Eastwood standards are far from reached. I was expecting better from a movie dated 2011. I will not be watching a second time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mist

WORTH A LOOK

(Edit) 05/05/2014

Classic Stephen King with a twist. Both myself and the wife enjoyed it and though dated it still out shines some of the stuff released in more recent years of the same genre. Worth at least one go.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pacific Rim

Pacific Rim (2013) - Niether really likeable, nor unlikeable - one for older kids if anything

(Edit) 14/04/2014

This can be summed up very easily - updated godzilla type creatures of various types want to kill us all, futuristic enormous human controlled and ridden super-sized terminator robots come to the rescue in both oceans and rain sodden utterly destroyed cities.

Good old US of A movie making hype at its best. If you like special effects this is for you - a decent plot or anything else - forget it.

Niether really likeable, nor unlikeable - one for older kids if anything

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones (2013) - On the whole, worth at least one look.

(Edit) 14/04/2014

Based on a series of books, having not read them I can't say how good an adaptation it is from them. However what I can say is that if you like a story line where where good Vs evil, in a modern day setting where warlocks and werewolves are the good guys and gals and the baddies are demons, then this is something for you. If you've seen Buffy or the Vampire Diaries you'll will get the general gist how this film comes across, and if you liked them then you will probably like this.

Oh and you'll also come away feeling that a follow up is probably on the way.

On the whole, worth at least one look.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

White House Down

White House Down (2013)

(Edit) 06/04/2014

PC below has hit it on the nail with the review "Die Hard at the White House." I would add to that as I was watching it a poor man's Die Hard Bruce Willis came across. His lines lacked a certain punch and though I don't believe the film was intended to be witty, it does but I believe it was more because of lazy script writing and plot making. The special effects are a good use of 'blue screens' and computorisation and the acting is OK. However the steal of the film was Emily Cale (Joey King), whilst the adults were all in a tizz flapping like flamingos, it was the kid who was the true savior of the free world. The tenacity of her character along with Joey's acting stood out in the limited scenes she was in and only added to the film.

Would I recommend this film to others? Yes, but with the proviso that it is what it is, nothing more that 2 hours of an action packed American hammed up adventure yarn so make sure you have plenty of pop corn and Pepsi on hand (other soft drinks are available and acceptable).

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.