Film Reviews by RE

Welcome to RE's film reviews page. RE has written 15 reviews and rated 51 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wonderstruck

Touching and intriguing

(Edit) 28/10/2020

Loved this film. So easy going a little odd, spooky too. Great to not know too much in advance just sit back and enjoy as the parallel stories unfold.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lighthouse

WTAF

(Edit) 13/10/2020

Desperate. The theme and setting had so much potential but this has to be the most Dire film I have seen in a long while.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gemini Man

Better than expected

(Edit) 07/09/2020

Enjoyed the film more than expected. A decent story, despite being a little predictable but good all the same. Can’t get out of my head the likeness of Clive Owen to Pete postlethwaite, it’s uncanny.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Peanut Butter Falcon

Feel good road trip

(Edit) 14/07/2020

Just a nice easy going film. One of those for a miserable Sunday Afternoon.

A simple plot, funny, sometimes moving and of course somewhat predictable but very enjoyable all the same.

Super to see Zack, an Actual Down’s syndrome sufferer,Playing the part, Shia does a half decent job too, massive improvement on Transformers.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Journeyman

Boxed in

(Edit) 27/04/2020

Quite a simple storyline but very effective and dramatic. Some great acting too. Moving in places shocking in others. A Great British film, kept simple and well produced. Definitely one to watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Widows

Better than expected

(Edit) 27/04/2020

Not based on the old UK series, and doesn’t come close, but much better than I expected. Really quite an enjoyable film. Bit of action, drama, emotion, decent cast and some good acting too. Give it a go.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Patagonia

Gwych

(Edit) 22/04/2020

Love this film, great to have films with different languages, this one in Spanish (Argentina/Patagonia), Welsh and a spattering of English too. All adds to the authentic feel. Fantastic cinematography in both Patagonia and Wales. Simple, funny, dramatic and just a pleasure to watch. Yes somewhat predictable but just a lovely film. Perfect Sunday afternoon on a rainy day viewing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Overlord

Nazi Zombie Phsyco's

(Edit) 22/04/2020

Yeah, war film turned horror but OK to watch all the same. Fantastic beginnings and then kind of slips down hill from there but no to bad really. shame as it had potential until the Nazi Zombies kicked in, still has the usual kick ass, love, torment, blood and guts pretty much a bit of something for everyone. Just lacks the Tarantino touch really.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Us

Enjoyable

(Edit) 17/03/2020

Better than a lot of tosh out there. plenty of suspense, a few surprises along the way. Easy (or uneasy) watching old school scary movie.

Quiet at times and diction not too clear when the "Baddies" are talking but this aside a decent film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shiny Shrimps

Not quite Priscilla

(Edit) 12/03/2020

Not quite Priscilla queen of the desert but good fun all the same. Entertaining, camp and fun.

Simple story line camping it up and a little bit of sadness thrown in for good measure.

Enjoyable and a super finale.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shape of Water

Excellent

(Edit) 12/03/2020

Just really loved this film. So typical of Guillermo del Toro.

Original, Quirky and so different. An absolute pleasure to watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Great War

No great at all

(Edit) 10/03/2020

switched it off before it was half way through, Just couldn't get into it at all. weak characters, bad acting just really poor.

Made for TV (in the 80's) feel to it.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Slow burner

(Edit) 19/02/2020

Kind of typical Tarantino really. Takes a while to get going and get into the characters and then meanders for a while then boom. The action kicks in. Not his best but good and entertaining all the same. Slightly frustrating that it errs on factual occurrences.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spider-Man: Far from Home

Dreadful

(Edit) 03/02/2020

The worst Spiderman film to date. Really bad. Story line was thin, characters really poor. Cheezy American schmalz. Only gets one star because the effects were so good

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

You Were Never Really Here

never really got going

(Edit) 28/01/2020

So much potential here but failed miserably. While the story does compare well with Leon that's the only reason it gets two stars.

Good story line yes, hard to get into or believe the characters, such a shame as Joaquin could do so much better. Poor direction, poor screen writing, distinct lack of depth of character. Poor sound quality, lack of clear and audible diction. I persevered with it and wished i hadn't.

My partner lost interest after 20 mins and went to sleep...! then asked if she had missed anything to which the response was - No.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.