Film Reviews by NC

Welcome to NC's film reviews page. NC has written 449 reviews and rated 445 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shazam!

BIG with coloured suit.

(Edit) 18/09/2019

Masses of computer graphics, naturally. Most films these days are like watching PC games now. Is quite good fun, kids can probably watch this one quite happily, has good juniors input as a core.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Eye for an Eye

Long way from Swordfish or Paris With Love etc.

(Edit) 11/09/2019

Trying to think of one redeeming feature? Seeing Brendan Foster as a gross example of mankind is only one can think of. Plot, dialogue, pace, empathy........all missing.

John doing some poor stuff now.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I Feel Pretty

Nearly. Could have worked

(Edit) 02/09/2019

Is watchable/entertaining, but could have been far more edgy. Was a bit like Jack Black in drag. Too much flimsy US toilet humour, and not quite the edge it could of had. Devil wears Prada had style, this has splash and noise.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

About Time

Groundhog gets money.

(Edit) 02/09/2019

Once again we have the idle rich wandering about. Opposite backdrop to Run Fat Boy Run. Not being a communista, but lack of reality is almost as far fetched as the theory of Narnia/cupboards.

That said, the acting is pretty good, and the execution saves the film from being total waste of electricity. Bill is Bill, as usual. His way of moving and talking almost precludes him from doing any other type of film, although he could easily go for spooky serial killer like the much missed Robin Williams in One Hour Photo. Billy Connolly could be very nasty guy when wanted to be, and he is supposed to be a part time actor. Come on Bill, get a meaty part and break the mould.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hitman: Redemption

Self employed seeks electric chair.

(Edit) 28/08/2019

Is not a bad film, but cannot go above a 2 stars, as once again the normality of murder as an acceptable occupation......... The Jesse James syndrome with guns and glorification of psychopaths.......... Again the pretty young lady totally bowled over by the geriatric overweight, even with heart condition and no obvious charm. Grandfather complex gone mad.........stretching credibility to the limit. Quite doubtful to be fair, verging on un-healthy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dumbo

Kids should see the original 1941 as well.

(Edit) 27/08/2019

1941. Not long after Fantasia. Amazing film. Imagination through the roof.......where is the novelty now? Tim Burton has done some pretty original material, but he had a job on his hands here. Has managed to get some of the original on board, like the pink elephants.........how many tens of thousand of hand painted slides to do the original!

Tried to explain to grand children how they made the original animations. They just could not grasp the concept, the enormity of the process!

Kids will still love it. Keaton and Farrell and De Vito a bit wasted. All that money could have been saved, and great chance for someone new to have a go................Hollywood keeps them on until they drop.................

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Salting the Battlefield

Part 3 Finale

(Edit) 27/08/2019

Rounds off 3 good films. Reminds me of Tinker Tailor, the originals. Quite intelligent dialogue, for once. Bill is the same in every film he does, but his persona fits this role. Hardly a lady killer really, but they have to do it, they feel obliged..............

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Turks and Caicos

Intelligent fim, for once.

(Edit) 27/08/2019

Old school film, that means you have to listen to what they are saying, and no excuse, because they actually deliver the lines in a recognizable form!

Lot of good folk in this little film. Walken, as always, is a delight. Hathaway is just great, and far above Bill's masculine weight, but have to imagine he has hidden potential. Ralph is deeply devious.

Great set of 3 films, and this one is the best. How they managed to get 5 top actors in one little film is a gem.............

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blackadder's Christmas Carol

Good Xmas stocking filler

(Edit) 27/08/2019

If have a small gap to fill at Xmas, this tucks in well. Not quite the Scrooge original, but a good tongue in cheek take.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Page Eight

Bill scores double top.

(Edit) 18/08/2019

Bill is a very odd ladies man, but in many films he is aligned with lovely girls half his age. He looks as bemused as everyone else. Tinker-tailor style with quite good complexity.

Competent effort, and , although not ground breaking, spins along OK.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Surviving Christmas

Bit dated.

(Edit) 18/08/2019

Bit slow by todays standards. OK Xmas flick, and no swearing etc, which counts for something these days. Kids can watch as well for once.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Vice

Rockwell is good.

(Edit) 10/08/2019

Boring part of American history compared to other juicier bits that could choose. Bayle is twice the size of the Machinist role. Mumbles a lot. That does not mean you get an Oscar!

Sam Rockwell has played some very spooky parts. Still has the edge to him as Bush, but is the only light in the film. Carrell is with teeth set again.

Somebody trying to score points with a film by the looks. Quite a lot may be correct. Even more may be implied with smoke and mirrors. Who knows? Cheyney prob blown another valve when/if saw the film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Front Runner

Sleep time

(Edit) 10/08/2019

Sort of documentary. Sort of boring. Historically maybe interesting, but almost as tedious a piece of mundane history as Vice with Cheney.

Who really interested now?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Happy Prince

Rupert does Oscar, but in best possible taste.

(Edit) 14/08/2019

Reminds me a bit of Alan Badel somehow. Another great actor. Maybe it is the way you can hear what he says, even in French! Dissolute Oscar for sure, bit away from his initial celebrity status.

Today he would have a top talk show, and be sought after in all the best media circles.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Second Act

Does my arse look big in this?

(Edit) 09/08/2019

Lopez appears to be one of the more user friendly lead ladies in US films.........could be misstaken of course........now getting into middle age, so interesting wardrobe in this film. Much of what she wears probably not do her any favours in the rear section. So ladies prob like this film, as can pass comment about that.

Film is predictable flick. SameO sameO, but gave a 3 as not as bad as most to be fair.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567891030

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month