Film Reviews by SH

Welcome to SH's film reviews page. SH has written 26 reviews and rated 56 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Birds of Prey

Quirky but a weak movie

(Edit) 18/09/2020

Poor story line, awful action scenes, poor casting (Ewan Mcgregor was HORRIFIC!). At best this is a poor low budget spin off movie. I'd be surprised if there is a sequal.

Only reason this gets 2 stars is due to the few comic moments but there are not enough to save the movie. Movies like this work best when they are darker, set at night. Not when your shooting the scenes in the street with the general public around.

It's a poor attempt to push "girl power" in a sci fi genre. It tries to hard to do that and it looses focus on the story.

Watch but you'll be disappointed.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bad Boys for Life

Disappointing

(Edit) 31/08/2020

Very much a case of making money from a great 1st two films. Over stylised, lacked substance. A fat Martin Lawrence desperately trying to be funny with weak jokes, cringe worthy references to the original movies, a weak storyline and some bad fight scenes. Should have made much more use if the AMMO characters, could have built them in more, especially the female characters.

Also very frustrating why black people find it acceptable to say "nigga" yet call other races racist when they use the word. Make up your mind black community! Also several anti white jokes which again, apparently acceptable because black people are saying it (wouldn't get away with that if white characters did that...).

A very unsatisfying movie with racist undertones. Dont bother watching it, the originals are far better.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Knives Out

Best movie I've seen in ages!

(Edit) 18/06/2020

An absolutely must watch! Funny, gripping, great cast and cinematography. Really hope they do a sequel.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aquaman

1 star is to many

(Edit) 22/04/2020

Worst movie I've ever seen. Acting is poor at best, CGI is horrific, comedy content is poor. Part of this movie look like a Power Rangers reboot! How this movie made over a BILLION dollars God only knows.

DC need to stop making movies. Just stop. Your ruining every super hero you ever created.

Honestly, don't bother watching this movie

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ad Astra

Slow burner

(Edit) 16/04/2020

If you ignore the flaws in the science it's a half decent movie. Worth a watch if you have a spare few hours

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mortal Engines

Better than expected

(Edit) 16/04/2020

Nice idea. Good acting n story. It's something a bit different from the norm. Won't b everyone's cup of tea tho but worth a watch

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Captain Marvel

Rubbish

(Edit) 07/03/2020

Rubbish, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish. Oh, did i mention, it's rubbish!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Glass

Must see!

(Edit) 29/02/2020

So good. Finishes off the trilogy nicely. Ignore the other reviews. Hopefully they'll leave it as a trilogy and not spoil it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Joker

Left wanting more, in a good way!

(Edit) 29/02/2020

Won't say to much as i don't wait to spoil this for anyone but the movie is an absolute triumph! Totally engrossed for 2 hours and honestly, could have easily watched another 2 hours. It's uch a good story and you really want to know more by the end of it and see what happens next. Sequel anyone?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Avengers: Endgame

Good but has flaws

(Edit) 22/02/2020

If you've watched the others, you'll watch this regardless of what anyone writes about it. There is a bit of cheese, there is some poor story line areas. The new Hulk is terrible and underutilised. Captain Marvel is a bit boring and just disappears for large parts of the movie. The problem is even though it's a massively long movie, it's so crammed with characters you don't get any real sense of plot. It's just a mish mash of how much screentime can we give everyone.

Needs more refinement but hey, it's the final instalment of the saga so you'll watch it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

War for the Planet of the Apes

The end, hopefully

(Edit) 16/02/2020

Not a bad movie but you can tell it was made to finish off the franchise. One last outing to tie up some loose ends.

Worth a watch but won't wow you.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spider-Man: Far from Home

Good bits, bad bits

(Edit) 15/02/2020

So this is a slow burner of a movie that's definitely for a younger market. For those who appreciate "diversity" over tradition.

Pros - Tom Holland is a good Spiderman. The humour is good in places, it will make you chuckle now and then.

Cons - Some of the green screen scenes and CGI are just awful. It's a soft Spiderman, designed for the young teen market. Your left feeling unsatisfied when you realise there's no real baddie it's just a normal man using tech (hopefully if not given it away!).

Worth a watch but if you're a hardcore Spiderman fan you will be disappointed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

BumbleBee

Transformers Lite

(Edit) 08/02/2020

So i'm a huge Transformers fan, esp the initial ones and was excited to see the Bumblebee spin off. After watching i was left with mixed feelings but overall they were positive. Summary below.

Pros - The relationship between Bee and Charlie is fun, intense and emotional. It's an epic piece of acting by Hailee Steinfeld and is arguably the movies strongest point.

Cons - It's very much lacking in real umph which for a child friendly spin off is to be expected but leaves the older fans wanting more. Also, it's the Bumblebee story but there's no real history about who he is. There's 5 minutes at the start which gives you a brief glimps into his life but that's it. The rest of the movie is (no spoilers) about his "earth" based life. There's no back story, no history. Why is Bee who he is which is disappointing. Also, John Cena is a massive CON for this movie. Horrific acting ability! The man should not be allowed on a film set!

Would love to give this movie 4 stars but it's a solid 3 and worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pacific Rim: Uprising

Worth a watch

(Edit) 08/02/2020

So just to get it out there, it's not as good as the first movie. It's a bit of a lukewarm rehash of leftovers with a few new ingredients chucked in.

Pros - As it's similar to the original you'll like it because its a Mecha genre movie with Godzilla overtones. Also the acting of Cailee Spaeny is a particular highlight and her interaction with the other cast members.

Cons - It's not a huge leap from the first movie, more of a stop gap to a presumed Pacific Rim 3. The storyline is a bit weak with no real surpises or depth.

Worth a watch but hoping number 3 is a step up

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Murder on the Orient Express

It's OK but it's not Poirot

(Edit) 01/02/2020

Was quite looking forward to watching this but not sure i ever got over the opening scenes with a very odd Poirot played by Kenneth Branagh. He's slightly odd interpretation and appearance spoil what is a half decent movie. It's a good movie to kill some time but won't have you in suspense which is the whole point of a Poirot classic. Hopefully Death on the Nile will help the franchise grow into something more.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month