Film Reviews by BE

Welcome to BE's film reviews page. BE has written 234 reviews and rated 233 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dumbo

No improvement on the original.

(Edit) 29/03/2020

Run of the mill remake of 1941 Dumbo cartoon.  I found the booming sound throughout irritating and the subdued colours didn't do much to enhance my interest. The two young child leads we're rubbish, especially the girl, displaying stiff and wooden acting throughout the movie. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

If Beale Street Could Talk

No expectation so none to live up to (just as well)!

(Edit) 29/03/2020

Filled with hope to begin with as looked as if I was going to watch a good drama. Nah!  It fizzled out into a languid scenario with very little happening for most of the rest of the film.  That having been said, I did enjoy the laid back acting from the two very much in love, people of colour. Plus, what a lovely change to hear affable dialogue that wasn't peppered with jive talk and four letter words throughout, which appears to be the norm these days. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pain and Glory

No entiendo!

(Edit) 24/03/2020

This film was very hard going for me. I don't speak fluent Spanish and yet again, some bright spark chose to display the white subtitles on the bottom of the actual film. Thus, when the film was of a light hue, it was very difficult to read them. It was a case of keep pausing the film to read what the dialogue was. The continuity of viewing was so disruptive, it spoilt the film. I don't feel I can comment any further apart from adding that Antonio Banderos looked very natural in his role and displayed his excellent acting ability. I was also non-plussed with the ending. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Old Man and the Gun

Me no like

(Edit) 24/03/2020

Am I the only one who didn't like this movie?   I found it dull and boring and kept falling asleep, whilst it was on.   Robert Redford has turned out some excellent movies during his long career as a movie star but, sadly, this wasn't one of them.  As for Cissy Spacek as his fawning lady friend, well, no comment!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stronger

Worth a watch

(Edit) 16/03/2020

Predictable movie as we know the story. The superb acting from Jake Gyllenhaal (Jeff) and Tatania Maslany (girlfriend) was better than the movie and just stopped it from becoming maudlin. His mother ((Miranda Richardson), performed like a voiciferous refugee from the Jeremy Kyle show. I am unsure why Jeff became a hero as people that cope with the severance of limbs (and worse) are manifold - probably because he wrote a book about his experience. I was also baffled as to why he did not undertake counselling for PTSD.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Namesake

Want something different - try this

(Edit) 15/03/2020

An intelligent story relating to the changing dynamics affecting a family growing up in both India and America. Beautifully acted, moving and with some fun elements. Also some very interesting shots taken in India.  Recommended. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ladder 49

A flaming good movie

(Edit) 11/02/2020

A very well made movie which appeared to give a very realistic depiction of the work undertaken by the American fire service. Juaquin Phoenix, as usual, was in tip top form. Along with his more recent film performances, he is proving to be one of America's greatest actors.  His screen wife in Ladder 49 (Jacinda Barrett) gave a lovely, natural performance. Unlike a lot of American female actors, it was quietly crafted and not over the top. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blinded by the Light

"Do you liker good music......." tra la la ??????

(Edit) 08/02/2020

A pleasant enough little movie, held together by good acting and directing plus a cool soundtrack from Bruce Springsteen. No prizes for the supplier of wigs - some were truly awful (a case in point being Rob Bryden's)!  The movie just stopped itself from turning into mawkish towards the end. Other than that, quite a good watch. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Dark Knight

Not enthralled.

(Edit) 01/02/2020

I can appreciate Heath Ledger gave his all in his performance as the Joker. Nevertheless, I did not like this movie very much. The sound effects were so very noisy, I had to keep turning the volume down, then up again for the dialogue as it then could not be heard.  I didn't understand the dynamics between all of the main characters so the movie was lost on me. I watched it on the back of Todd Phillips' movie 'Joker'. Not a patch on that brilliant movie 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Let the Sunshine In

Little Ado About Nothing!

(Edit) 26/01/2020

I wish I had read the reviews before hiring this movie. A banal load of rubbish. I was surprised to see the cameo performance from Gerard Depardieu at the end. Whatever possessed him, or Juliette Binoche, comes to that. Maybe they were short of funds!  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mercy

Watchable for a quiet night in

(Edit) 26/01/2020

A reasonably enjoyable movie well acted by Colin Firth as the lead player. The scenes involving wife and children looked a bit staged, with them and the rest of the cast not looking comfortable in this 1968 - 69 setting. I was not aware of this true story so was a bit surprised at what I thought was going to be a predictable ending. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Reformed

Give it a whirl

(Edit) 10/01/2020

A thinking person's movie with a very unusual storyline. Humourless, depressing but ultimately very watchable. Excellent acting from the whole cast. Surprisingly quirky footage towards the end, the meaning of which I have yet to suss out. Directed and written by Paul Schrader - clever man. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sneaky Pete: Series 1

A Busy One

(Edit) 09/01/2020

Lots going on in this presentation. I watched the first episode and enjoyed it. I didn't realise Sneaky Pete was a ten part television series. I cannot commit to watching another nine episodes. My bad. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Between

Interesting movie

(Edit) 09/01/2020

A film with substance and good acting. This was an eye opener on culture issues and what it must be like to live in modern day Israel. I failed to initially engage with the characters as I was missing a lot of the quite fast dialogue. The white subtitles were placed on top of the actual film thus making them impossible to read when the presenting scene was light as well. Poor show. Other than that, I am glad I persevered with it. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Benjamin

Total waste of time

(Edit) 16/12/2019

I don't think I have ever watched such a boring and inconsequential movie.   It had nothing to redeem itself. Awful. 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
1234567891016

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month