Film Reviews by BE

Welcome to BE's film reviews page. BE has written 218 reviews and rated 218 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Us

Time not well spent

(Edit) 06/12/2019

This movie was recommended but failed to live up to expectations. A really silly presentation, repetitive and boring.  I endeavoured to persevere but fell asleep half way through!  (One star for playing the Beach Boys' rendition of 'Good Vibrations' during the screening). 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Custody

Very well presented.

(Edit) 14/11/2019

Nicely paced credible and realistic drama around the dynamics of a family in which the parents have alienated themselves from each other.  There is also a truly terrifying scenario towards the end of the movie. The only issues with the subtitles were at the very beginning because of the background. Other than that, no problem with reading them. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wildlife

Forgettable

(Edit) 09/11/2019

I found this laconic movie mainly dull and uninteresting.  It was too slow and the father and son characters lacked any depth. I watched it all but ultimately, found it quite boring. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Journeyman

A good watch

(Edit) 02/11/2019

Difficult to watch at times given the subject matter but it is well crafted and has excellent and natural acting from the cast. The film portrays an injured boxer overcoming adversity with the help of friends and professionals. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Joker

Outstanding

(Edit) 26/10/2019

A thoroughly absorbing cinema experience with Joaquin Phoenix giving yet another Oscar worthy performance. Emotional, controversial and tragic in equal measure interspersed with some uncomfortable comedy scenes.  I cannot rate this movie highly enough and glory be, no sex scenes!  A Superb presentation.  (I noticed Bradley Cooper coming up in the  in the credits as one of the co-producers - he doesn't appear to be putting a foot wrong these days). 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Master

The Master-piece

(Edit) 26/10/2019

A thoroughly absorbing and engaging movie with two of America's finest male actors at the helm tackling an unusual subject matter. Joaquin Phoenix was truly outstanding (although was not awarded the Oscar he deserved for his performance).  Phillip Seymour Hofmann also gave his expected excellent performance and proves what a sad loss to the world of acting his demise was.   To be revisited. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Disobedience

Nothing much to write home about

(Edit) 07/10/2019

An okay movie around the scenario of two women in love with each other. I can appreciate the movie was well acted but didn't find it particularly aluring. Not being of the same faith, I also had difficulty in relating to the Jewish customs and rituals. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Party

Well worth a watch

(Edit) 28/09/2019

A nice little British film in black and white, for a change. It didn't need colour. Well acted by all the cast and humourous.  After the magnificent performance by Bruno Ganz as Hitler in Downfall, I was very surprised to see him amongst the cast as an elderly German Yoga enthusiast without much of a role to get his teeth into. I was really getting into the film when it ended abruptly after 68 minutes!  Nevertheless, I am pleased to have watched it. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mission: Impossible: Fallout

Mission Impossible aka Car Chase Impossible

(Edit) 24/09/2019

Got swept along with the press reviews and made the mistake of hiring this movie. Run of the mill and boring unless you want non sensical wall to wall car chases, shootings and mundane dialogue. Ridiculous

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Whatever Works

Very funny

(Edit) 19/09/2019

Woody Allen, master of acerbic wit. Larry David, master at  purveying it. What more could you want?  Only criticism is lack of subtitles. Script was so fast and with American accents, some of the dialogue was missed. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

After the Storm

Unenjoyable

(Edit) 19/09/2019

I found this movie dull, humourless and boring. Not being able to empathise with any of the characters, I gave up after 45 mins.  Did the typhoon ever materialise?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Fantastic Woman

No thank you

(Edit) 09/09/2019

With dull and wooden acting from the lead, this was a mainly boring movie. Very little storyline which desolved in parts to fantasy. Watched it all in the hope that it would get better but proved pretty much a waste of time. 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

McQueen

? Fashion Designer

(Edit) 26/08/2019

He might have been termed as such but like a lot of fashion designers, McQueen’s clothes were far too outlandish for everyday folk to wear. There should be another named genre for this kind of Art, because that’s all it is. I found the film quite boring and for the few seconds that each of his creations were on the screen, it was far too short a time to appreciate them. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Blue Angel

Not for me.

(Edit) 23/06/2019

Watched the first disc for half an hour.  Totally unable to engage with this movie which was first made nearly 90 years ago. Won't bother with disc number two. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ingrid Goes West

Just okay

(Edit) 22/06/2019

Not much empathy for the inwardly cold individual that is Ingrid. I should imagine she must have had a dysfunctional upbringing. Unsure of the movie's genre - certainly would not class it as a comedy. Apart from Ingrid's well balanced landlord, most of the other characters in the movie present as shallow and unimpressive individuals. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567891015

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month