Film Reviews by BE

Welcome to BE's film reviews page. BE has written 249 reviews and rated 248 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Flood

Dull isn’t the word!

(Edit) 16/09/2020

Hardly a theme for a main stream movie.  Boring beyond words.  Fast forwarded most of it - all the way to a non- consequential ending.  One star so I could add review, otherwise it wouldn’t have got that!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ladybird Ladybird

A Seamless Ken Loach special

(Edit) 05/09/2020

One of the most difficult films I have ever watched.  Superbly acted by Chrissy Rock and Vladimir Vega.  Why on earth this actor has not been in more movies, I know not.  I wasn’t sure what to expect but although very harrowing, I found it gripping from beginning to end. Based on a mother’s act of negligence (although I wonder if there were other unspoken mitigating circumstances) and of her four children being taken away by Social Services. The film follows her attempt to get her children back and of two more babies being taken into care. I understand that the welfare of babies and children take precedence as far as Social Services are concerned but surely there was another way of dealing with these scenarios.  (There was a brighter note when the credits rolled).

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Out of Blue

Awful

(Edit) 27/08/2020

Twenty minutes in, got bored with it.  Most of the characters were weaving about like zombies, especially the main female lead. Opted out. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Kindergarten Teacher

Not run of the mill.

(Edit) 27/08/2020

Quite beguiling to begin with, then I started to worry where this film was going.  I’ll say no more.....  Lovely performances from Maggie Gyllenhaal and the unpretentious little boy. Holds the attention throughout. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hole in the Ground

Bored to the ground

(Edit) 13/08/2020

What a very silly film. No substance and I don’t like guessing games. Got half way thru and fast forwarded the rest to very near the end to see if anything interesting was going to happen. Nope. 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ordinary Love

Not a family film

(Edit) 09/08/2020

This is more a character study of a couple coping with the wife having a diagnosis of breast cancer. It’s quite  a claustrophobic presentation as, apart from themselves, the couple do not appear to have any family network or friends to interact with. It is not without humour and I have given it four stars for the brilliant and very natural acting from Liam Neeson and Lesley Manville. 

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Accused

Well presented.

(Edit) 24/07/2020

A broody and tightly focused movie on a father accused, by his daughter, of paedophillia.  Some of the scenes are lengthy but they draw you into the dynamics between the mother and father and, eventually, their young daughter. Seamless acting with little or no intrusive background music. 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Kid Who Would Be King

Not sure why I hired this...........

(Edit) 24/07/2020

From the perspective of a ten year old, I should think this film would be very enjoyable. It appears to have everything that would keep a pre-teenager occupied and attentive. A well trodden storyline but probably quite fresh to younger movie watchers. From the perspective of a more seasoned movie goer - seen it all before!  

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bait

Extremely dull

(Edit) 17/07/2020

This grainy black and white presentation reminded me of the historic French Jaques Tati films but without the humour. Bored and switched off half way though. Had to give one star or I could not submit a review!

0 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Burning

Uncaptivating

(Edit) 17/07/2020

Couldn’t relate to this Korean film at all.  Not real life as you know it and failed to hold my interest. Fast forwarded it to the end half way through.  It was as I thought but won’t spoil for anybody who wants to watch it.  

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mountain Between Us

Very watchable.

(Edit) 30/06/2020

I really enjoyed this movie, which was without the usual too high a tension and unbelievable gimmicks that are usually thrown at us in these scenarios. It was very well acted by both leads. In my opinion, Kate Winslet is one of the best and most natural actresses we have. I had never seen Idris Elba before and was also very impressed. It held my attention throughout and what a treat not to have continuous bad language emitting forth from the cast. Loved the dog as well (although a little bit of licence here with the food issue)!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Parasite

Billed as a comedy - really!

(Edit) 14/06/2020

Two stars for effort.  May be something got lost in sizing it down to a television screen but I failed to equate to this Korean movie.  I found it ultimately boring and two hours too long. Watched all the way through to see if would redeem itself and give at least an inkling as to why it won the 2020 Oscar for best film. Nothing apparent 

0 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midsommar

One star given so I could write a review!

(Edit) 15/06/2020

Listed as a thriller when it's patently a horror movie. It started off okay then descended into a nightmare farce. Weak storyline, weak dialogue and with some real stomach churning scenes. I have seen drivel but this is Drivel with a capital D. Be warned. Yuk!

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Yes, I can forgive you!

(Edit) 06/06/2020

I am not sure this film should be classed as a comedy as it is more morose than funny.  I was also surprised that I felt any empathy with a woman in her middle years undertaking criminal activities to pay her way in life. The perfect acting from Melissa McCarthy and Richard E. Grant defied you not to become emotionally involved with their screen characters.  I doubt this film would have been quite so enjoyable had they not been in it. 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mary Poppins Returns

Could do better

(Edit) 04/06/2020

Not unenjoyable although a pastiche of the original and far too long. Some of the songs were quite good but a few of the main characters were miscast. Lin Manuel never really fitted into his role as the lamplighter and Emily Blunt totally lacked any form of charisma. She came across as cold, uncaring and with very little rapport with her charges. Without spoiling anything for those that watch it and I know it wasn’t real, but the balloon scenario at the end really freaked me out. Where are H & S when you need them!!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
1234567891017

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month