Film Reviews by SB

Welcome to SB's film reviews page. SB has written 21 reviews and rated 19 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All the Money in the World

Brought back memories on this kidnapping

(Edit) 17/03/2019

Gripping real life story from years ago which I remember hearing at the time but never knew the ins and outs of the kidnapping. Shocking how the head of the Getty family valued money and objects rather than is own family but got is just deserves in the end. Well acted film worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Captain

Harrowing scenes but excellent film

(Edit) 17/03/2019

I wasn't aware of this story and was quite shocked at the brutality of those times when the Germans were killing their fellow men. It highlighted how easy it was and is for someone to take someone else's identity with harrowing consequences to others. This was a gripping film and definitely worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Greatest Showman

Watched due to friends comments but disappointed

(Edit) 02/03/2019

Wasn't sure as was a musical not my favourite genre but due to some friends comments decided to give a go but wish hadn't bothered! Acting, dancing and singing was ok but nothing special - the fact was a true story was probably the most positive thing for me but wouldn't recommend !

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Loving Vincent

Fabulous watch !

(Edit) 01/12/2018

So enjoyed this film - didn't know what to expect and found it mesmerising and fascinating. The whole concept of telling the story using oil painting and animation was excellent with vibrant colours and black and white - fabulous ! Will be buying this dvd sometime in the future as have never watched such and interesting film before.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Party

Mediocre film despite good cast

(Edit) 19/10/2018

Had high hopes for this film but should have read previous reviews ! Pretty boring really - storyline was neither nowt nor something and nearly dropped off half way through. Wouldn't recommend x

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wind River

A deep and shocking tale with amazing scenery

(Edit) 20/08/2018

Heavy duty tale of life for the native American women - I found this compelling and full of surprises. Agree with some of the other reviews about the poor sound quality and was difficult to hear some of the conversations which sounded muffled at times. Despite the sound issue found it a very good watch x

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Their Finest

Mediocre Film !

(Edit) 17/07/2018

Was looking forward to this film as it had such good ratings but didn't do a lot for me ! Acting was OK but the story line was pretty boring with an unexpected outcome. Wouldn't watch again !

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Founder

Facinating Story

(Edit) 03/06/2018

Very enjoyable film with good acting which showed the ins and outs of building big business and how cut throat people can be when making money.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spotlight

Great watch

(Edit) 03/06/2018

About time the truth was told about these atrocities which still happen today in same and other similar settings.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Suburbicon

Interesting and enjoyable watch

(Edit) 03/06/2018

Found this a very enjoyable film which highlighted some very disturbing aspects of life in the USA but in a very Cohen Brother / Fargo way - good watch !

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Going in Style

Mediocre viewing

(Edit) 09/05/2018

Despite being some great actors found this film very mediocre. The acting wasn't great and the storyline predictable and boring. Felt it was similar to other movies with older guys going on adventures but not as well done - wouldn't recommend.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hacksaw Ridge

Great film - an amazing true story of courage in war without arms

(Edit) 10/02/2018

I'm a woman and not a great war film fan but I found this film very watchable. I liked the balance of showing the character's personal life and beliefs alongside the intensity of the gruesome and very lifelike wartime action. I was amazed at what this guy achieved and made it for me one of the best watches for quite some time. Would recommend x

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Big Short

Great Film - well worth a watch

(Edit) 30/01/2018

Really enjoyed this film - although had to view twice and concentrate to get the gist of the story ! Interested in the ins and outs of trading especially as true story. Found the snips where some of the terms was explained and this was different and worked well in this film. Some good acting and interesting outcomes for alternative characters along the way! Couldn't see the point of the occasional shot of semi naked woman in bath - didn't bring anything to the party for me - prettysexist - like Wolf of Wall Street but otherwise would recommend!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Family Man

Good film

(Edit) 13/01/2018

Enjoyable film - keeps you engaged and worth a watch - although seems to focus more on the work situation than the family but makes it's point well.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Denial

Great watch

(Edit) 13/01/2018

Interesting film which highlights the atrocities of the past. Excellent acting which draws you into the situation and highlights that sometimes less is more to get to the truth and arrive at the correct outcome. Riveting stuff.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month