Film Reviews by AL

Welcome to AL's film reviews page. AL has written 72 reviews and rated 76 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Personal History of David Copperfield

Really disappointing

(Edit) 23/08/2020

Maybe if you know the story already it helps. We started watching and really had no idea what was going on. Things moved so fast between scenes with strange relatives and, whoever popping up saying something strange very quickly and leaving. Thank god the DVD seemed to stop half way through, maybe it got fed up as well as us. Tried to watch it with my family as was a PG and marked as being a comedy. I thought if it was a comedy it was supposed to be even remotely amusing.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Godzilla: King of the Monsters

Good fun

(Edit) 29/07/2020

Film was good fun. Nothing special, nothing bad, it was ok.

Not giving anything away, as this is seen in virtually every film. But there did seem to be a lot more key characters constantly just last second escaping, over and over again. I know all action films are like this, if they weren't then these films would be a lot shortly, if the hero died in the first 5 minutes. But noticed this more in this film. Perhaps it's because of the film's running time, which did seem to drag a little.

But it is good fun still. Couldn't remember what happened in the first one. I'll probably forget what happened in this one. But would be happy to see another, which I'm sure will happen.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

John Wick 3: Parabellum

Utterly Insane

(Edit) 21/07/2020

Totally insane and how so much bloodshed can go on and no one seems to get arrested or anything like that I really don't know. Bonkers is an understatement. However daft it is though, its thoroughly entertaining, but abit long.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Frozen II

Not the best sequel

(Edit) 17/07/2020

Unfortunately as expected it wasn't as good as the first one. The songs weren't as good and the kids wondered what was going on at one point I thought it was becoming a Bruce Wills Syfy classic!

But animation was good, story soet of made sense and tied things up nicely.

So all and all, it was ok, but forgettable

Although olaf was good.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rambo: Last Blood

Disappointing final (hopefully) instalment

(Edit) 11/07/2020

What a mess and a horrible one. I'll give it one this, it can be pretty gory in parts. Seemed to think we'll take all the best deaths from the previous films and just make them nastier. Oh well, passed the time. Such a shame because the first film is so fantastic.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Terminator: Dark Fate

Better than I thought

(Edit) 27/06/2020

I've not missed a Terminator film or TV series, I even saw the last one at the BFI IMAX, although that was a waste of money. I'm a big Arnie fan.

This one, number 6, kicks off pretending number 3 didn't happen, which is a shame as I liked No3. No3 nowhere as good as No1 & No2 of course, but did finish things off nicely and it made sense, sort of.

Pretending No4 & No5 didn't happen I'd fine with me especially No5, which I'm struggling to remember totally what happened and I thought would have killed off the Franchise, but nope its back with No6.

Only going to briefly mention the Sarah Connor Chronicles which was great and a crying shame that got canned.

Now onto No6. Due to Luke warm reviews and it being a big flop, I had feared the worst. It didn't help that in my mind from the off there were some pretty rubbish and obvious CGI terminators running around and I think that there is too much of that in the film.

But getting past that, this film was ok. Not great, not awful and a vast improvement on the last 2 entries.

Nice humour in many parts. No one really stands out but all actors clock in good performances, I'd say Mackenzie Davis probably my favourite.

I don't want to say too much more, as don't want to spoil for anyone. But I think this is fine.

I do hope that this is it and that there won't be any more. Considering how much this cost and lost, I'm probably safe hoping this.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yesterday

Interesting Concept

(Edit) 22/06/2020

Interesting concept. Richard Curtis does Rom Com like no other person. Great cast and interesting concept. We weren't quiet sure what it was about it that didn't seem to work. But a good 3 star film. Maybe abit forgettable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Missing Link

Totally Mixed

(Edit) 05/06/2020

We all watched this, that's 2 40 year olds and 2 teenagers. We all thought it was a average film. Took a while to get going and unfortunately I think it's a film we are all going to forget pretty quickly. Having said all that, the animation was very good.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Christmas

Not great

(Edit) 24/05/2020

We lasted 13.01 minutes I'm afraid. Really wanted to watch this, love Emelia Clarke and Emma Thompson, but this just didn't grab us at all. Perhaps if we didn't have so much else to watch we would've watched to the end, but with plenty of other things to see, we weren't willing to carry on viewing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mandy

Avoid Avoid Terrible

(Edit) 18/04/2020

Well what a waste of 15 mins, which is all I could manage of this awful film. No idea what was going on, couldn't really see what was going on or hear what was going on. Although Nicholas Cage did seem to be enjoying himself. Avoid.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Knives Out

Utterly Brilliant who done it

(Edit) 16/04/2020

Ok, so first off Daniel Craig's accent takes a little while to get used to, in fact my wife couldn't get used to it and left the room. But once you get past that, it's a real treat. Gripping all the way through, with many twists and turns and surprises. I'd love to live in the house where it is set. I wouldn't say no to a sequel of some sorts. Great cast as well and a different role for Michael Shannon, from the films I've seen him in. I'd heard it was good, but this was excellent.

7 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ralph Breaks the Internet

Boring

(Edit) 26/03/2020

I didn't watch this film but my boys did and here's what they said. It was ok, abit boring, the story was all over the place. Not as good as the first one. So from that review, I'd say don't bother.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Crawl

Boring and plodding

(Edit) 28/02/2020

Don't usually watch these sort of films, as seen these sort of things on syfy and they are trash. Had higher hopes for this film from some reviews, but it was painful. So boring, I wanted the key characters to die really on, but that would have finished the film really early. Although that would have been a godsend.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mrs. Lowry and Son

A bit slow but well acted

(Edit) 16/02/2020

Very well acted, but extremely slow. Would have been nice to have seen a little more of his art work, what gave him the inspiration and what happened when his career took off.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fighting with My Family

Unexpected Joy

(Edit) 09/02/2020

Stephen Merchant really is a versatile chap, who can turn his hand to anything. Didn't really have any interest in wrestling, but that didn't matter, sorry was compelling, even if a little predictable. But enjoyable to watch and could happily rewatch again sometime.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12345

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month