Film Reviews by AL

Welcome to AL's film reviews page. AL has written 56 reviews and rated 58 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All Is True

Dull Dull Dull and Dull

(Edit) 18/12/2019

Good grief, I didn't last long and had to forward on to the end. But for the brief time lasted, I found it so slow and Dull, just aweful. I loved Upstart Crow and can't believe thanks written by the same person. Very disappointed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Vice

Fascinating and disturbing

(Edit) 29/11/2019

Wow, a master class in acting from Christian Bale and in fact all actors involved. Not a story I thought I'd find compelling, but it really gripped me even though I knew the outcome of a lot of it. Can thoroughly recommend.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Long Shot

Very disappointed

(Edit) 22/11/2019

Really looked forward to this film, premise is not seen before, but just plain silly. To many cringe moment and far too long. Found myself zipping through the film as had a lot better things to do. Such a shame. Having said all that, don't often see Charlize smile and laugh in a film, so that was a novelty.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Man

Ok but not great.

(Edit) 23/10/2019

Ryan Gosling was perfectly cast in this, can't imagine anyone else playing Armstrong. Ryan does what he's good at, no emotion, lake of charisma. Perfect in Blade Runner 2 as well. Bit I just find him so boring. Whether it's just me, but I seem to be constantly winding back to listen closer to hear what not only him, but his wife are saying and sometimes it's not because of the music going on, but because they are so quiet mumbling. I would say it's because I'm getting old, but I'm only 45! Saying all that, the effects and action were amazing, if not a little hard to follow, but I guess that was accurate.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alita: Battle Angel

Surprisingly entertaining

(Edit) 30/09/2019

I knew nothing about the film before I saw it, apart from there was a CGI girl in it. Found it to be an original entertaining film, amazing effects and good story line. Not sure about the ending, I guess aiming for a sequel. Don't know if that will come now Disney has their hands on it, but you never know.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mortal Engines

Amazing imagery

(Edit) 30/07/2019

Special effects were amazing, liked the concept of London being a moving city knew nothing about the film before a saw it. Would have liked to have known more about how the earth got into the state it did, although I know that would be a little bit too much back story. I think some of the acting split it for me. The young male hero just seemed so annoying, I found myself hoping he'd die. Anyway worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Venom

Surprisingly entertaining

(Edit) 19/07/2019

Heard reviews but not read any. Glad I didn't because I may not have seen this film and that would have been a shame. I thought this was Great, really didn't know what to expect, but this is very entertaining, original and a different type of marvel film. Glad it's part of Sony and not Disney's marvel universe, so it can be apart from that arch. It's not as good as Logan (but what is), but it surprised me, like Logan did. Tom hardy was excellent, other cast were fine as well, not great but fine. Looking forward to the next one.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Glass

Great way to finish the trilogy

(Edit) 28/06/2019

I thought this was a great conclusion to the trilogy. I'd only bought split reasonably recently to watch as I knew Glass was coming out and thought that was highly original as well. Just loved the conclusion and how it all came together and the little twists at the end, expected of course, but still good. James Mcavoy was excellent changing between characters, in faftvthey all played their characters well. When I get a spare moment, will need to watch all 3 again. Highly recommend.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom

Not bad, but not great

(Edit) 22/06/2019

Started off well, but seemed to leave the island abit too early for my liking. CGI was really good and the acting not bad, better than expected, but could have been better. Good to see Jeff Goldbloom and Toby Jones in the film. Worth watching, seemed to be a little bit too much obvious that it's a set up for the next one. But kids loved it, so that's good.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Girl in the Spider's Web

Poor

(Edit) 16/06/2019

Clare Foy does give it a good go in the title role, it's such a shame that the film is just unbelievable and boring. Some of the scenes are so contrived. One scene and this isn't spoiling anything, someone gets hit down by a car, but was miles away from the scene of the accident just a few moments. Must have had some sort of matter transporter. Shame. Best just watch the original Swedish ones.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Meg

Daft, but fun

(Edit) 10/06/2019

I didn't expect much from this, but I'd heard it had been a big hit, so thought I'd give it a go. It wasn't your normal America saves the day at all, which makes a pleasant change. Nice premise to the movie as well. Can see how the films going to play out from a mile away. But as long as you remove brain before watching, it's thoroughly enjoyable throw away film. CGI wasn't too bad either. Imagine they'll be planning a sequel.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Meg

Daft, but fun

(Edit) 10/06/2019

I didn't expect much from this, but I'd heard it had been a big hit, so thought I'd give it a go. It wasn't your normal America saves the day at all, which makes a pleasant change. Nice premise to the movie as well. Can see how the films going to play out from a mile away. But as long as you remove brain before watching, it's thoroughly enjoyable throw away film. CGI wasn't too bad either. Imagine they'll be planning a sequel.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

McKellen: Playing the Part

Fascinating and inspiring

(Edit) 03/06/2019

Really great insight into Sir Ian Mckellen's life and career. If you're not a fan a Ian's then may not get much our of it. But I thought it was insightful and well worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Annihilation

Good grief, dull and boring

(Edit) 04/06/2019

I should have read reviews before seeing this, but was taken in by a some 5 star reviews showing on the front of the dvd from respected sources. I don't know what film they were watching, but it wasn't this one. Absolutely terrible, some of the special effects were ok and I think that's it. Little twist at the end, but by that point I'd lost interest. I think you can watch this film in about 25 minutes without losing anything from the ponderous plot. And Natalie Portman can be great, then again she was in the star wars prequels and appears to have used that acting style in this film. Just really disappointed. I don't get many free nights to watch films and was looking forward to this and was let down. This will be going straight to a charity shop. I'd say if you see it there for £1.00 buy it, otherwise don't bother.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Deadpool 2

Poor sequel

(Edit) 28/05/2019

Really enjoyed the first one. Didn't mind the premise of this one. Trouble I found was the jokes and knods to things I wasn't aware of seemed crowbared in. Also some pointless and poor CGI at times. Just a great shame. Not sure what Disney I'll do with it, if anything.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month