Rent When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts (2006)

4.3 of 5 from 69 ratings
4h 18min
Rent When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts Online DVD & Blu-ray Rental
  • General info
  • Available formats
As the world watched in horror, Hurricane Katrina hit New Orleans on August 29, 2005. Like many who watched the unfolding drama on television news, director Spike Lee was shocked not only by the scale of the disaster, but by the slow, inept and disorganized response of the emergency and recovery effort. Lee was moved to document this modern American tragedy, a morality play witnessed by people all around the world. The result is When The Levees Broke: A Requiem In Four Acts. The film is structured in four acts, each dealing with a different aspect of the events that preceded and followed Katrina's catastrophic passage through New Orleans.
The film is an intimate portrait of New Orleans in the wake of the destruction, and tells the heartbreaking personal stories of those who endured this harrowing ordeal and survived to tell the tale of misery, despair and triumph.
Darleen Asevedo, Jay Asevedo, , , , , Robert Bea, , Wilhelmina Blanchard, , Kathleen Blanco, , , Karen Carter, Louis Cataldie, Judith Morgan, Cheryl Livaudais, Will Chittenden, Eddie Compass,
TV Documentaries
Release Date:
Run Time:
258 minutes
English, English Hard of Hearing
DVD Regions:
Region 2
Aspect Ratio:
Widescreen 1.78:1 / 16:9
  • Audio commentaries by filmmaker Spike Lee
  • Next Movement - Act 5: A 105-minute epilogue featuring new interviews and insights that further chronicle the hardship endured by New Orleaneans in the aftermath of Katrina
  • Water Is Rising: A gallery of photos by David Lee with music by Terence Blanchard
Disc 1:
This disc includes:
- Acts I & II
Disc 2:
This disc includes:
- Acts III & IV
Disc 3:
This disc includes:
- Next Movement & Water Is Rising

Rent other films like When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts

Found in these customers lists

Reviews of When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts

Currently there are no reviews for this title